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SUBJECT 
 

State Bar of California 
 

DIGEST 
 

This bill authorizes the State Bar of California (State Bar) to collect $553 in annual 
license fees for active licensees for 2024 and $161 in fees from inactive licensees for 2024, 
an increase of $88 and $23.60, respectively, from 2023. The bill makes various other 
changes to the State Bar Act, as provided.   
 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
The State Bar of California (State Bar) is a public corporation and the largest state bar in 
the country. Attorneys who wish to practice law in California generally must be 
admitted and licensed by the State Bar. (Cal. Const., art. VI, § 9.) This bill is the annual 
State Bar licensing fee bill. Last year, the Legislature asked the State Bar to submit a 
report providing written justification for how it would use revenue generated by an 
increase in the mandatory annual license fee. The State Bar submitted the report and 
requested a $125 active licensee fee increase. This bill provides an $88 active license fee 
increase. The bill also makes various other changes to the State Bar Act, including 
requiring a report on complaints received regarding access issues related to the 
biannual bar exam. The bill is author sponsored. No timely support or opposition was 
received by this Committee. 
 

PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE LAW 
 
Existing law: 
 
1) Requires all attorneys who practice law in California to be licensed by the State Bar 

and establishes the State Bar, within the judicial branch of state government, for the 
purpose of regulating the legal profession. (Cal. const., art. VI, § 9; Bus. & Prof. Code 
§ 6000 et seq.)  
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a) The Legislature sets the annual fees. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140, 6141.)  
b) The State Bar is governed by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar (Board). 

(Bus. & Prof. Code § 6010 et seq.; § 6016.) 
 

2) Establishes that protection of the public, which includes support for greater access 
to, and inclusion in, the legal system, is the highest priority for the State Bar in 
exercising their licensing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions. Whenever the 
protection of the public is inconsistent with other interests sought to be promoted, 
the protection of the public is to be paramount. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6001.1.) 

 
3) Authorizes the State Bar to collect $465 in fees from active licensees for the year 2024 

as follows:  
a) $390 annual license fee. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140.) 
b) $40 fee for the Client Security Fund. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140.55.) 
c) $25 fee for the costs of the disciplinary system. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 

6140.6.) 
d) $10 fee for the attorney diversion and assistance program. (Bus. & Prof. 

Code § 6140.9.) 
 

4) Authorizes the State Bar to collect $137.40 in fees from inactive licensees for the year 
2024 as follows:  

a) $97.40 annual license fee. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6141(a).) 
b) $10 fee for the Client Security Fund. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140.55.) 
c) $25 fee for the costs of the disciplinary system. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 

6140.6.) 
d) $5 fee for the attorney diversion and assistance program. (Bus. & Prof. 

Code § 6140.9.) 
e) An inactive licensee who is 70 years old or older is not required to pay an 

annual license fee. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6141(b).) 
 

5) Specifies that the license fee is payable on or before the first day of February of each 
year. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140 & 6141.) 

a) Authorizes the State Bar Board of Trustees to waive the fee by rule, and 
specifies that an active licensee who can demonstrate total gross annual 
individual income from all sources of less than $60,478.35 presumptively 
qualifies for a waiver of 25 percent of the annual license fee. (Bus. & Prof. 
Code § 6141.1.) 

 
6) Requires the State Bar to charge a $45 fee in addition to the annual license fee for 

active and inactive licensees for the purposes of funding legal services for persons of 
limited means, as provided, unless a licensee elects not to support those activities in 
which case the licensee can deduct the amount from the annual license fee.  

a) Requires $5 of the $45 fee to be allocated to qualified legal services projects 
or qualified support centers, as defined, to hire law school graduates with 
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a temporary provisional license issued by the State Bar, as provided. (Bus. 
& Prof. Code § 6140.03.) 

 
7) Requires the State Bar to contract with the California State Auditor’s Office to 

conduct a performance audit of the State Bar’s operations every two years. (Bus. & 
Prof. Code § 6145(b).) 
 

8) Provides that the Chief Trial Counsel (CTC), with or without the filing or 
presentation of any complaint, may initiate and conduct investigations of all matters 
affecting or relating to: the discipline of the licensees of the State Bar; the acts or 
practices of a person whom the CTC has reason to believe has violated or is about to 
violate any provision of law related to the unlawful practice of law and unlawful 
solicitation; and any other matter within the jurisdiction of the State Bar. (Bus. & 
Prof. Code § 6044.) 

 
9) Requires the State Bar to report to the Board of Trustees and Legislature on an 

annual basis regarding the implementation and operation of the Attorney Diversion 
and Assistance Program. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6238.) 
 

10) Provides that officers and elected officials of the State of California, and full-time 
professors at law schools accredited by the State Bar, the American Bar Association, 
or both, and full-time employees of the State of California, acting within the scope of 
their employment, are exempt from mandatory continuing legal education. (Bus. & 
Prof. Code § 6070(c).) 
 

11) Requires an attorney or law firm that, in the course of the practice of law, receives or 
disburses trust funds to establish and maintain an Interest on Lawyers' Trust 
Account (IOLTA) in which the attorney or law firm deposits or invests all client 
deposits or funds that are nominal in amount or are on deposit or invested for a 
short period of time, and that all such client funds may be deposited or invested in a 
single unsegregated account. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6211(a).) 

 
12) Requires the interest and dividends earned on all those accounts described in 9) to 

be paid to the State Bar of California to be used for funding specified legal services 
for indigent litigants. (Ibid.) 

 
This bill:  
 
1) Authorizes the State Bar to collect $553 in fees from active licensees for the year 2025 

as follows:  
a) $478 annual license fee. 
b) $40 fee for the Client Security Fund.  
c) $25 fee for the costs of the disciplinary system.  
d) $10 fee for the attorney diversion and assistance program.  



AB 3279 (Committee on Judiciary) 
Page 4 of 18  
 

 

2) Authorizes the State Bar to collect $161 in fees from inactive licensees, except for 
those 70 years old or older, for the year 2025 as follows:  

a) $121 annual license fee. 
b) $10 fee for the Client Security Fund.  
c) $25 fee for the costs of the disciplinary system.  
d) $5 fee for the attorney diversion and assistance program.  
e) An inactive licensee who is 70 years old or older is not required to pay an 

annual license fee. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6141(b).) 
 

3) Revises when the licensee fees are payable to a date set by the State Bar, which is not 
to be less than 12 months from the prior year’s due date. 

a) Individuals who qualify for a waiver are permitted to pay fees on an 
installment basis, with interest, in the manner determined by the State 
Bar. 

 
4) Requires the State Bar to transmit to the Legislature a report detailing potential 

options for lowering the costs associated with leasing the property at 180 Howard 
Street, San Francisco, as provided.  
 

5) Requires the State Bar, on or before April 1, 2027, to transmit to the Legislature a 
report detailing all of the following: 

a) the number of attorneys referred to the diversion program; 
b) the number of complaints resulting in a referral to the diversion 

program; 
c) the rate of reoffending by attorneys referred to the diversion program; 

and 
d) the total reduction in caseload for the Office of Chief Trial Counsel 

(OCTC) resulting from the pilot disciplinary diversion program. 
 

6) Requires the State Bar to seek to achieve, through employee attrition only, a 15 
percent vacancy rate by April 1, 2027, and prohibits the State Bar from terminating 
an employee solely for the purpose of meeting the target vacancy rate.  

 
7) Specifies that each appointing authority may remove from office at any time any 

member of the board appointed by that authority for continued neglect of duties 
required by law, or for incompetence or unprofessional or dishonorable conduct. 
 

8) Authorizes judicial review of a decision to approve or deny, in whole or in part, an 
application for reimbursement from the Client Security Fund to be had by filing a 
petition for a writ of administrative mandamus within 90 days after the date the 
decision was served. States that this provision is declaratory of existing law. 
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9) The bill provides that the Examining Committee is responsible for the approval, 
regulation, and oversight of degree-granting unaccredited law schools that meet 
both of the following: 

a) award the juris doctor (J.D.) professional degree in California; and 
b) are not approved by the American Bar Association or the Committee of 

Bar Examiners. 
 

10) Requires, commencing July 1, 2026, and annually thereafter, the State Bar to transmit 
to the Legislature a report detailing the number of complaints regarding access 
issues related to the biannual state bar exam detailed as follows: 

a) the testing location in which the complaints occurred; 
b) the nature of the access related complaints; 
c) accommodations provided to persons levying access related complaints; 
d) any additional information the State Bar determines to be relevant and 

necessary for the assessment of the existing programs for addressing 
access issues related to the biannual state bar exam. 

 
11) Specifies that full-time employees of the State of California includes all licensees of 

the State Bar employed by the California State Legislature, regardless of the 
licensee’s official position classification, for purposes of mandatory continuing legal 
education exemptions. States this is declaratory of existing law. 
 

12) Provides that a presiding state court judge is to be paid the same salary as a justice 
of the court of appeal.  

a) Specifies that any compensation increase for State Bar Court judges on or 
after January 1, 2025, that is attributable to increases in the salary of a 
superior court judge or a justice of the court of appeal is only to be 
funded by license fees up to the amount of the increase that would have 
occurred in the absence of the changes made by 7) above.  

 
13) Requires, on and after January 1, 2026, a financial institution to furnish on an annual 

basis a statement of account for every client trust account actually known to the 
financial institution based on its books and records that are associated with an 
attorney licensed to practice in California in a format mutually acceptable by the 
financial institution and the State Bar.  

a) The statement of account is to include, but not be limited to, the name 
and address of the account holder, other information necessary to 
identify the account holder, and the account balance as of December 31 of 
the prior year. 

b) Requires the State Bar to furnish to a financial institution the name, 
address, and attorney license number for client trust accounts reported 
from the statement of accounts provided pursuant to a), above, and by 
attorneys licensed to practice in California to the State Bar that are not 
included within the statement of accounts furnished by the financial 
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institution. The State Bar is only to furnish information to the financial 
institution where the account holder is a customer of the same financial 
institution as reported by the attorney licensed to practice in California. 

c) Requires financial institutions to cooperate with the State Bar to assist in 
identifying the license number of any remaining client trust account 
holders that are not identified pursuant to the process identified in b), 
above. 

d) Requires a financial institution receiving information pursuant to c), 
above, to incorporate into its books and records the attorney license 
number for client trust accounts where such information was previously 
not collected, after validating the accuracy of the information furnished 
by the State Bar. 

e) Requires a financial institution, commencing January 1, 2027, to furnish 
to the State Bar on an annual basis a report for every client trust account 
actually known to the financial institution based on its books and records 
that are associated with an attorney licensed to practice in California. The 
report is to include, but not be limited to, the name and address of the 
account holder, the attorney license number, and the account balance as 
of December 31 of the prior year 

 
COMMENTS 

 
1. Stated need for the bill  

 
The author writes: 
 

AB 3279 is the annual bill to authorize the collection of a fee from licensed attorneys 
in California to fund the operations of the State Bar of California, the regulator of 
attorneys in this state. 
 
Unfortunately, due to growing cost pressures, and, at times, questionable budgetary 
practices at the State Bar the agency now needs an increase of the annual fee to fund 
its operations. These fee increases reflect the Committee’s primary objectives for the 
State Bar. Those objectives include protecting all staff from layoffs and guaranteeing 
all salaries and benefits promised by the State Bar. The fee also seeks to stabilize the 
State Bar’s budget and encourage the State Bar to become more efficient through the 
development of a diversionary program in lieu of strict discipline for attorneys who 
commit minor violations of the Rules of Professional conduct for the first time. This 
diversion program should reduce disciplinary workloads and ensure attorneys are 
better trained to avoid mistakes. This fee also provides for the deployment of the 
State Bar’s proactive measures to better police client trust accounts to ensure that 
would-be fraud and malfeasance are detected before clients can ever be harmed. 
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Although the [Assembly Judiciary] Committee rarely supports any increases in 
licensing fees for attorneys, a reluctance based on the State Bar’s many prior 
missteps, this year’s fee increase is the result of careful deliberations and reflects the 
funding priorities of this Committee and the need to support the State Bar’s new and 
innovative programs that will ensure the agency functions and a modern and 
efficient regulatory body. 

 
2. State Bar of California functions as the administrative arm of the Supreme Court for 

the purpose of assisting in attorney admissions and discipline 
 
As a constitutional matter, the judicial power of California is vested in the Supreme 
Court, Courts of Appeal, and superior courts. (Cal. Const., art. VI, Sec. 1.) (In re Attorney 
Discipline System (1998) 19 Cal.4th 582, 592; Obrien v. Jones (2000) 23 Cal.4th 40, 48.) In 
addressing this inherent authority to regulate the practice of law, the Supreme Court 
has explained: “’The important difference between regulation of the legal profession 
and regulation of other professions is this: Admission to the bar is a judicial function, and 
members of the bar are officers of the court, subject to discipline by the court. Hence, 
under the constitutional doctrine of separation of powers, the court has inherent and 
primary regulatory power.’” (In re Attorney Discipline System, supra, 19 Cal.4th at 593.) The 
State Bar functions as the administrative arm of the Supreme Court for the purpose of 
assisting in attorney admissions and discipline, with the court retaining its inherent 
judicial authority to disbar or suspend attorneys. (In re Attorney Discipline System, supra, 
19 Cal.4th at 599-600; see Keller v. State Bar of California (1990) 496 U.S. 1, 11.) 
 
Attorneys who wish to practice law in California generally must be admitted and 
licensed by the State Bar. (Cal. Const., art. VI, Sec. 9.) The State Bar of California is a 
public corporation. Although originally a creature of statute, the State Bar is now “a 
constitutional entity within the judicial article of the California Constitution.” (Obrien, 
supra, 23 Cal.4th at 48; see Cal. Const., art. VI, § 9; Bus. & Prof. Code, Sec. 6001.) The 
State Bar’s regulatory assistance is an integral part of the judicial function. (Obrien, 
supra, 23 Cal.4th at 48.) Emphasizing the sui generis nature of the State Bar as its 
administrative arm, the Supreme Court has made clear that “express legislative 
recognition of reserved judicial power over admission and discipline is critical to the 
constitutionality of the State Bar Act.” (In re Attorney Discipline System, supra, 19 Cal.4th 
at 600, citing Bus. & Prof. Code Sec. 6087.) 
 
At the same time, the Legislature’s exercise, under the police power, of a reasonable 
degree of regulation and control over the profession and practice of law in California, is 
well established. (Obrien, supra, 23 Cal.4th at 48.) The Legislature exercises regulatory 
authority pursuant to the State Bar Act and has authority to set the amount of license 
fees necessary to fund the disciplinary system. The Legislature has enacted statutes 
making protection of the public the highest priority of the State Bar (Bus. & Prof. Code § 
6001.1) and subjecting the CTC of the State Bar to Senate confirmation (Bus. & Prof. 
Code § 6079.5). 
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The State Bar of California is the largest state bar in the country. As of April 22, 2023, 
the total State Bar membership is 293,304, which includes 197,479 active licensees, 2,267 
judge members, 17,851 licensees who are “Not Eligible to Practice Law,” and 
approximately 75,707 inactive members.1 The State Bar’s programs are financed mostly 
by annual license fees paid by attorneys as well as other fees paid by applicants seeking 
to practice law. The State Bar is governed by a Board of Trustees (Board). Pursuant to 
SB 36 (Jackson, Ch. 422, Stats. 2017), the Board was required to transition to a 13 
member board comprised of Governor, Supreme Court, Assembly, and Senate 
appointees. 
 
3. Attorney licensee fees 
 
In 2019, based largely on recommendations from the California State Auditor and the 
Legislative Analyst’s Office, the 2020 annual license fee was increased to $438 for active 
licensees and $108 for inactive licensees. This fee increase consisted of a $71 increase on 
an ongoing basis and a onetime fee increase of $52 for active licensees, and a $20 
increase on an ongoing basis and a onetime fee increase of $13 for inactive licensees. 
The 2021 annual license fee was decreased to $395 for active licensees and $97.40 for 
inactive licensees through AB 3362 (Committee on Judiciary, Ch. 360, Stats. 2020). The 
decrease included the cessation of several of the onetime fee increases imposed in 2020. 
When all fees were added together, excluding the optional legal services fee, the total 
license fee for 2021 was $470 for active licensees and $137.40 for inactive licensees.2 The 
2022 annual license fee was the same as the license fee for 2021. (SB 211 (Umberg, Ch.  
723, Stats. 2021.) The 2023 annual license fees were the same as 2022, except it provided 
that the active license fee is to be reduced by $4 and the inactive licensee fee by $1 if the 
State Bar has entered into a contract to sell its San Francisco office building by October 
31, 2022. The State Bar sold its building November 2023 for $54 million. Leah Wilson, 
Executive Director of the State Bar stated “the sale of 180 Howard was a prudent and 
necessary action on our part in these post-pandemic and precarious financial times. This 
deal helps our finances by allowing us to remain whole through 2024. It also allows us 
to remain in the building we have called home for 25 years.”3 
 
 
 
 
 

                                            
1 Attorney Status, State Bar of Cal. (current as of June 17, 2024), available at 
https://members.calbar.ca.gov/search/demographics.aspx. 
2 This amount includes the fee for the Attorney Diversion and Assistance Program of $10 for active 
licensees and $5 for inactive licensees, which last year was only $1 and $0, respectively. (Bus. & Prof. 
Code § 6140.9(a).).  
3 State Bar of California Sells 180 Howard Building in San Francisco, State Bar of Cal., (Nov. 14, 2023), 
available at https://www.calbar.ca.gov/About-Us/News/News-Releases/state-bar-of-california-sells-
180-howard-building-in-san-francisco.   

https://members.calbar.ca.gov/search/demographics.aspx
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/About-Us/News/News-Releases/state-bar-of-california-sells-180-howard-building-in-san-francisco
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/About-Us/News/News-Releases/state-bar-of-california-sells-180-howard-building-in-san-francisco
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4. The State Bar requests a licensing fee increase of $125 
 
Last year, the Legislature asked the State Bar to submit a report providing written 
justification for how it would use revenue generated by an increase in the mandatory 
annual license fee. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6145.1.) The State Bar submitted this report and 
requested a $125 increase in the active license fee stating it is faced with a structural 
operating deficit and shrinking reserves and need this fee to maintain and increase 
public protection.4 They point to the fact that the licensing fee has only been increased 
once in the last 25 years and that had the fee increased with inflation it would be over 
$700 today. They state that $95 of the requested fee is to maintain existing programs and 
staff and fulfill contractual obligations. The other $30 would be used to support new 
staff and programs.   
 
The State Bar provides several justifications and arguments for why the fee increase 
should be granted. They note that for the last several years, the number of active 
attorneys has grown more slowly than the number of inactive attorneys and that the 
proportion of the inactive population age 70 and older, who therefore pay no licensing 
fees, is growing. They point to the fact that the State Bar has been tasked by the 
California Supreme Court with enforcing the Client Trust Account Program and 
enforcing new Rule of Professional Conduct 8.3 on mandatory reporting of attorney 
misconduct.5 The State Bar reports that from “August 1, 2023, to March 1, 2024, nearly 
300 complaints were filed by California attorneys pursuant to rule 8.3, comprising 60 
percent of all complaints filed by California attorneys during the period.” The State Bar 
notes that they processes complaints at a lower cost-per-complaint ratio than its peers, 
while it receives more complaints per capita, on average, than other states, including 
states with the largest number of attorneys. They also point out that California’s current 
license fee is lower than that of 17 other states.   
 
5. The State Bar has a troubled history prioritizing protection of the public and making 

imprudent financial decisions 
 

a. Girardi scandal 
 

The State Bar’s highest priority is the protection of the public, which includes quickly 
finding and disciplining dishonest or incompetent attorneys. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 
6001.1.) The ability of the State Bar to meet this priority was seriously called into 
question over the past several years due to the Thomas Girardi scandal. The Senate and 
Assembly Judiciary Committees held a joint oversight hearing of the State Bar in May 

                                            
4 Justification for a Fee Increase, State Bar of Cal. (Apr. 1, 2024), available at 
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/Portals/0/documents/reports/Justification-for-a-Licensing-Fee-
Increase.pdf.  
5 These State Bar proposals were both approved by the California Supreme Court. The mandatory 
reporting rule was only proposed by the State Bar after the introduction of SB 42 (Umberg, 2023).   

https://www.calbar.ca.gov/Portals/0/documents/reports/Justification-for-a-Licensing-Fee-Increase.pdf
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/Portals/0/documents/reports/Justification-for-a-Licensing-Fee-Increase.pdf
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2023 and provided an in-depth analysis of the scandal in their background paper.6  In 
summary, in 2021, Girardi was accused of stealing millions of dollars from his injured 
clients over many years. The State Bar did not take action against Girardi until 2021 
when he was disbarred by the California Supreme Court after a disciplinary hearing, 
even though serious and repeated allegations of misconduct against Girardi were 
reported to the State Bar. This disciplinary action only occurred after a federal court 
found that he had misappropriated $2 million that was awarded to victims’ families in 
the Lion Air flight 610 plane crash of 2018, and referred the matter to federal 
prosecutors for further investigation. Documentation eventually released by the State 
Bar detailed roughly 40 years of disciplinary records that showed Girardi had over 200 
complaints filed against him since 1983, many of which alleged misappropriation of 
client finds. Further investigations detailed an alarming history of weak internal 
enforcement of conflict of interests and troubling relationships between employees of 
the State Bar and Girardi. The Senate and Assembly Judiciary Committees concluded 
that the State Bar has quite a long way to go to gain back public trust and correct issues 
with its disciplinary system. As such, last year’s state bar fee bill SB 40 (Umberg, Ch. 
697, Stats. 2023) did not provide a fee increase for the State Bar.  
 

b. Imprudent spending and questionable decisions that impact protection of the public  
 
In 2012, the State Bar purchased a building in Los Angeles. However, according to the 
State Auditor, the State Bar did not perform a cost-benefit analysis to determine if the 
purchase was appropriate and warranted before receiving approval from its Board to 
purchase the building, did not fully inform the Legislature of its plans, and 
potentially risked public safety by doing so and not prioritizing other areas, such as 
attorney discipline. The Auditor found that the decision to purchase the Los Angles 
building jeopardized the State Bar’s core function to protect public safety:  "Rather 
than using its financial resources to improve its attorney discipline system, the State 
Bar dedicated a significant portion of its funds to purchase and renovate a building in 
Los Angeles in 2012."7  Even more troubling, the State Bar chose to secure the 
additional funding for the Los Angeles building, in part, through a loan that required 
the State Bar to use $4.6 million of its Public Protection Fund as collateral for the loan.  
The sole purpose of the Public Protection Fund is to protect the public in the event of 
a financial emergency. However, without any notification to its members or the 
Legislature, the State Bar decided, unilaterally, to tie up over 70 percent of its Public 
Protection Fund – $4.6 million of the $6.5 million fund – for the 15-year life of the 
loan. The State Auditor noted that the use of money in the Public Protection Fund 
was part of a larger pattern in which the State Bar had been transferring money 

                                            
6 See The California State Bar - Administrative Arm of the Supreme Court:  
Disconcerting Revelations Raise Questions About its Ability to Protect the Public, Oversight Hearing of the Ass. 
& Sen. Jud. Comm., (May 23, 2023), available at 
https://sjud.senate.ca.gov/sites/sjud.senate.ca.gov/files/background_paper_final_letterhead.pdf.  
7 Cal. State Auditor, State Bar of California:  It Has Not Consistently Protected the Public Through its Attorney 

Discipline Process and Lacks Accountability (June 2015) at 43.  

https://sjud.senate.ca.gov/sites/sjud.senate.ca.gov/files/background_paper_final_letterhead.pdf
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between its various funds and using the money on unrelated items. The Auditor 
found that the State Bar made 50 transfers between funds involving a total of $64.2 
million from 2009 through 2012.8    

Several years later, in 2016, the State Bar took out a $10 million loan to make 
upgrades and tenant improvements on its San Francisco building at 180 Howard 
Street. The State Bar did this without any input or approval from the Legislature. In 
order to use some of the loan as security for repayment, the State Bar chose to secure 
the loan through a security interest in future member dues, again without consulting 
the Legislature. The loan was secured on future license fees and was entered on 
March 1, 2016 for a term of ten years.  Before receiving approval from the Board to 
take out the loan, the State Bar requested an opinion from its staff on the legality of 
the revenue pledge. Though staff found the loan to be legally permitted, legal staff 
suitably warned that the pledge has the:  

[P]otential to impact the Bar's regulatory functions, could additionally be deemed 
inconsistent with the later adoption of Business & Professions Code, section 
6001.1, which provides that the Bar must place public protection as its highest 
priority and additionally states, “[w]henever the protection of the public is 
inconsistent with other interest sought to be promoted, the protection of the public 
shall be paramount.” …  [S]uch a pledge could subject the Bar to criticism on the 
basis that it could place funds that govern its core regulatory activities at what 
may be deemed to be unnecessary risk.9  

When the proposal was presented to the Board for approval, these risks were not 
included in the materials presented to the Board. Furthermore, this decision was 
taken just one year after the Auditor questioned the State Bar's decision to purchase 
its Los Angeles building on the basis that the State Bar had not considered whether 
the resources to repay the loan might be better spent on improving the discipline 
system and had noted that not doing so posed a potential risk to public protection.  

The State Bar also had a pattern of disconcerting spending on various expenses as 
identified in the 2017 audit by the State Auditor.10 For example, the State Bar spent 
$156,900 on alcohol between January 2015 and September 2016, and paid $768,000 for 
lobbying activities between 2014 and 2016. Further reports showed that the State Bar 
paid for various trips to El Salvador, Mexico, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Peru, and 
Mongolia according to documents compiled by The Recorder.11  In response to these 
reports and deunification, the State Bar reduced its expenses in many of these areas 
and prohibited the purchase of alcohol for its events and meetings.  

                                            
8 Id at 13.  
9 Asm. Com. on Jud. Analysis of S.B. 36 (2017-18 reg. session) as amended Apr. 6, 2017 at p. 8.  
10 Cal. State Auditor, The State Bar of California: It Needs Additional Revisions to its Expense Policies to 

Ensure That It Uses Funds Prudently (June 2017).  
11 Cheryl Miller, Joe Dunn, Bar Officials Spent Freely on Foreign Travel, The Recorder (Jan. 25, 2016).  
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Committee staff does not mention the above to rehash the past but to demonstrate why 
the Senate and Assembly Judiciary Committees have been so resistant to authorizing a 
fee increase for the State Bar. In its report requesting a fee increase, the State Bar noted: 
 

Over the course of this last quarter century, the amount of pressure and attention on 
the State Bar to effectively and responsibly fulfill its mission has grown—rightfully 
so—while resources have stagnated. Although the organization has been able to 
prudently manage its resources for these last two-plus decades, time has effectively 
run out on the State Bar’s ability to remain solvent, let alone meet the public’s 
expectations of performance and accountability.12 

 
6. This bill increases the active license fee by $88 and the inactive license fee by $23.60 
 
In 2024, the State Auditor confirmed that the State Bar’s is facing significant and 
legitimate financial hardships.13 The Assembly Judiciary Committee analysis of this bill 
states that “the State Bar’s budget situation has become more precarious [since last 
year]. Due to contractually obligated staff salary and benefit increases, and the State 
Bar’s remarkable success in recent hiring, the agency now faces a budget deficit of 
several million dollars.”14 Furthermore, the Assembly Judiciary Committee analysis 
highlights that “thanks to the dedication of the State Bar’s line prosecutors and support 
staff, it appears that meaningful improvements in the quality and efficiency of the State 
Bar’s disciplinary system have been achieved. The Office of the Chief Trial Counsel 
(OCTC) deserves significant credit for the efficiencies realized as a result of the Office’s 
reorganization.”15 After taking into account all of the above and after thorough review 
of the report submitted by the State Bar, this bill raises the active license fee by $88 and 
the inactive license fee by $23.60. 
 
 The fee increase for active licensees can be broken down as follows: 
 

 a $10 increase in the base active license fee; 

 a $15 increase to pay for lease costs associated with leasing space in the building 
located at 180 Howard Street, San Francisco; 

 a $52 increase to fund the salaries and benefits of employees of the State Bar, 
including benefits identified in the applicable memorandums of understandings 
with the bargaining units of State Bar employees; 

 a $5.50 increase to fund the actual cost of administering compliance reviews and 
audits of client trust accounts; and 

 a $5.50 increase to fund the disciplinary diversion pilot program.  

                                            
12 Justification for a Fee Increase, supra at fn. 4 at p. 4. 
13 Cal. State Auditor, The State Bar of California: It Will Need a Mandatory Licensing Fee Increase in 2024 to 
Support Its Operations (Apr. 2023) available at: https://information.auditor.ca.gov/reports/2022-
031/index.html#section1. 
14 Asm. Jud. Comm. analysis AB 3279 (2023-24 reg. sess.) as amended Feb. 9, 2024 at p. 6. 
15 Ibid.  

https://information.auditor.ca.gov/reports/2022-031/index.html%23section1
https://information.auditor.ca.gov/reports/2022-031/index.html%23section1
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The fee increase for inactive licensees can be broken down as follows: 
 

 a $3.60 increase in the base inactive license fee; 

 a $3.50 increase to pay for lease costs associated with leasing space in the 
building located at 180 Howard Street, San Francisco; 

 a $14 increase to fund the salaries and benefits of employees of the State Bar, 
including benefits identified in the applicable memorandums of understandings 
with the bargaining units of State Bar employees; 

 a $1.25 increase to fund the actual cost of administering compliance reviews and 
audits of client trust accounts; and 

 a $1.50 increase to fund the disciplinary diversion pilot program.  
 

a. A major part of the fee increase is to protect State Bar employees from layoffs and benefit 
reductions 
 

The Assembly Judiciary Committee analysis of this bill highlights one of the main 
drivers behind authorizing a fee increase – to protect State Bar employees from layoffs 
and benefit reductions: 
 

The State Bar employs over 650 persons working in a range of functions from 
attorneys investigating and prosecuting complaints against attorneys, to those who 
proctor the biannual bar exam, to IT and other support staff. In 2023, the State Bar 
and the Service Employees International Union negotiated a new salary and benefits 
agreement. While there is little question the State Bar’s employees deserved their 
new contract, unfortunately the employees’ raises and benefits were agreed to 
without the State Bar having previously secured the funding necessary to meet their 
obligations to their employees. 
 
As a result of the State Bar agreeing to raises before securing the funding necessary 
to provide increased employee compensation, the State Bar has now placed this 
Committee in an untenable position. This Committee must now retroactively 
approve the funding needed to meet the State Bar’s contractual obligation to its 
employees or risk these employees facing layoffs. As noted above, a primary object 
of this measure is to protect the State Bar’s employees from layoffs or benefit cuts.  

 
However, when reviewing the State Bar’s request for a fee increase to fund employee 
salaries and benefits, several concerns arose. First, the State Bar proposed two 
separate categories of a fee increase to fund employee salaries and benefits. The first 
request was for $39 for active licensees and $10 for inactive licensees. The second 
request merged some aspects of employee compensation into a request for IT 
services and contracts. As a result, it was very difficult for this Committee to clearly 
parse which aspects of the fee increase request would go to funding employee 
salaries and benefits and which aspect would fund IT services. Additionally, the 
State Bar is currently operating with a vacancy rate of 7.5 percent. In consulting with 
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the Legislature’s own budget experts, it has been suggested to this Committee that 
the typical state agency operates with a vacancy rate of 15 to 20 percent. The larger 
vacancy rate at most state agencies is intentional, as these vacancies permit the 
agencies to promote high achieving employees in place or fund merit raises. Because 
the State Bar is operating with such a low vacancy rate, it has virtually no flexibility 
to promote employees or offer merit increases without seeking funding from the 
Legislature. It also appears that the State Bar can meet its operational goals with a 
vacancy rate in excess of the current 7.5 percent. Indeed, the State Bar’s own report 
seeking a fee increase noted that the Office of the General Counsel was meeting its 
case review targets with a 12 percent vacancy rate.16 

  
b. Lease payments for San Francisco office 

 
The State Bar requested an increase in license fees to cover the full $4.4 million in 
annual lease payments to the new owner of the Howard Street building. That total 
would amount to a fee increase of $21 for active licensees and $5 for inactive licensees. 
The Assembly Judiciary Committee notes that:  
 

[…] the State Bar’s report also suggested that the State Bar is now saving 
approximately $1.36 million as a result of selling the [San Francisco] building. These 
savings take into account the loss of lease revenue associated with owning the 
building. This Committee believes that attorneys should benefit from these cost 
savings. Accordingly, the Committee is proposing to reduce the fee increase request 
to reflect the State Bar’s savings related to the sale of the building. Thus, the 
Committee is proposing a fee increase of $15 for active licensees and $3.50 for 
inactive licensees. The Committee is also proposing that the State Bar study how to 
further reduce the costs associated with leasing office space, including moving out 
of the Howard Street building early or seeking subleases.17 
 
c. License fee increase will fund two new programs to bolster regulatory efficiencies and 

hopefully lessen the need for additional or future fee increases 
 
In addition to funding core operating expenses, the State Bar requested substantial 
additional funding for the creation or expansion of various programs within the agency. 
Some of these new programs present an opportunity for the State Bar to achieve 
operational efficiencies and regulatory innovation. The first program proposed by the 
State Bar that this bill funds is a program to more efficiently monitor attorneys with 
client trust accounts. The essence of the Girardi scandal involved misappropriation of 
client funds. In order to prevent such a situation from ever happening again, the State 
Bar is now proposing a trust account monitoring program. This program will alert the 
State Bar to potential client fund issues long before a consumer can be defrauded by 

                                            
16 Id. at 8-9. 
17 Id. at 10. 
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their attorney. Both the statutory approval for the program and corresponding fee 
increase to fund the program are included in this statute. The inclusion of these 
provisions was based on significant negotiations with banking industry stakeholders 
and their agreement that the provisions were operationally feasible. To the extent that 
stakeholders have concerns, these provisions may need to be changed as the bill 
continues to move through the legislative process.  
 
The second new program involves adoption of a diversion program for low-level, first 
time offenders caught in the attorney discipline process. Many complaints against 
attorneys are the result of inexperience or poor training and not malfeasance, and 
therefore can be addressed through additional training and mentoring and not formal 
discipline. The State Bar states that a diversion program could redirect up to 20 percent 
of all cases currently prosecuted by the OCTC. In addition to funding the program, the 
bill requires a report on the progress of the program be submitted to the Legislature.  
 
7. Other changes in the bill 
 
This bill makes several other changes to the State Bar Act.  
 

a. Ensures State Bar judges are compensated in a manner to attract the best talent to the 
organization 

 

Judges of the State Bar Court have to act very similar to trial court judges in that they 
hear evidence, rule on objections, and manage State Bar Court trials; however, they are 
paid less than their peers on the superior court. According to the State Bar Court judges, 
this is causing a recruitment and retention issue. Accordingly, the State Bar Court 
judges now seek pay parity with their superior court peers. Notably, due to vacancy 
rates on the State Bar bench, the Court can absorb these raises in their existing budget 
without impacting licensing fees. Given that increasing State Bar Court judges’ salaries 
will be revenue neutral, the Assembly Judiciary Committee sought fit to approve their 
request; however, to ensure that future pay does not place upward pressure on the 
licensing fee, language limiting the future use of fees to pay for State Bar Court salaries 
is included in the bill. 
 

b. Complaints about bar exam testing accommodations 
 
The Assembly Judiciary Committee states that “[s]ince the COVID-19 pandemic, and 
the temporary use of online technology to administer the biannual bar exam, this 
Committee has noticed an uptick in complaints from test takers contending that 
disability accommodations have not been adequately provided by the State Bar.”18 This 
Committee has observed a similar uptick in complaints being reported as well. 
Complaints received have varied from inadequate venues, proctors that are distracting, 

                                            
18 Id. at 13.  
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failure to respond to accommodation requests in a timely manner, asking for too much 
evidence, and not following the provisions of the federal American with Disabilities 
Act. There have been several suits against the State Bar alleging failure to provide 
accommodations in accordance with the American with Disabilities Act that are in 
varying stages of litigation. The State Bar reviewed its rules and has a proposal of 
revised rules regarding testing accommodations that have yet been presented to the 
California Supreme Court for approval, though the State Bar may submit them for 
approval this year.19 Many individuals who have made complaints to this Committee 
and the Assembly Judiciary Committee regarding exam accommodations are 
requesting that this Committee waive sovereign immunity (for the State Bar) so they 
can seek damages and other remedies. This approach seems heavy-handed and would 
require in-depth research into the constitutional implications, such as separation of 
powers. In order to monitor this issue and receive more data, the bill requires the State 
Bar to submit specified data regarding access-related complaints to the Committee.  

 
c. Various other changes in the bill 

 
This bill makes several other minor statutory changes to assist in the State Bar’s 
governance. First, the bill clarifies the State Bar's duties as it pertains to regulating legal 
education programs not accredited by the American Bar Association and eliminates the 
need for the State Bar to oversee non-degree granting institutions. Secondly, the bill 
clarifies long-standing ambiguity as to which state employees are exempt from 
mandatory continuing legal education requirements.  Further, the bill clarifies what 
seals must be placed on the documents attesting that a new lawyer has been properly 
sworn into practice. The bill clarifies that the entity that appointed a member of the 
State Bar’s Board of Trustees may remove that member if the member is derelict in their 
duties or commits ethical violations. Finally, the bill revises when the licensee fees are 
payable to a date set by the State Bar, which is not to be less than 12 months from the 
prior year’s due date, and specifies that individuals who qualify for a waiver are 
permitted to pay fees on an installment basis, with interest. 
 
8. Statements in support 
 
The State Bar writes in support of the bill but notes that they have not received the 
identified $95 to maintain existing operations and programs: 
 

the State Bar identified the need for a $95 increase in attorney licensing fees to 
maintain existing operations and services or “keep the lights on.” AB 3279 goes a 
long way toward achieving that goal, providing $77 to support existing 

                                            
19 Revised Amendments to Testing Accommodations Rules, Cal. State Bar, (Oct. 7, 2023), available at 
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/About-Us/Our-Mission/Protecting-the-Public/Public-Comment/Public-
Comment-Archives/2023-Public-Comment/Revised-Amendments-to-Testing-Accommodations-
Rules#:~:text=The%20proposed%20rules%20provide%20for,permanent%20physical%20or%20mental%20
disability. 

https://www.calbar.ca.gov/About-Us/Our-Mission/Protecting-the-Public/Public-Comment/Public-Comment-Archives/2023-Public-Comment/Revised-Amendments-to-Testing-Accommodations-Rules%23:~:text=The%20proposed%20rules%20provide%20for,permanent%20physical%20or%20mental%20disability
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/About-Us/Our-Mission/Protecting-the-Public/Public-Comment/Public-Comment-Archives/2023-Public-Comment/Revised-Amendments-to-Testing-Accommodations-Rules%23:~:text=The%20proposed%20rules%20provide%20for,permanent%20physical%20or%20mental%20disability
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/About-Us/Our-Mission/Protecting-the-Public/Public-Comment/Public-Comment-Archives/2023-Public-Comment/Revised-Amendments-to-Testing-Accommodations-Rules%23:~:text=The%20proposed%20rules%20provide%20for,permanent%20physical%20or%20mental%20disability
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/About-Us/Our-Mission/Protecting-the-Public/Public-Comment/Public-Comment-Archives/2023-Public-Comment/Revised-Amendments-to-Testing-Accommodations-Rules%23:~:text=The%20proposed%20rules%20provide%20for,permanent%20physical%20or%20mental%20disability
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operations. The primary difference between the $95 need identified by the State 
Bar and the $77 reflected in the bill relates to staffing levels; AB 3279 anticipates 
the Bar doubling its vacancy rate by an additional 45 – 50 positions by April 2027. 
Despite the Legislature’s significant commitment to supporting existing 
operations, a doubling of the State Bar’s vacancy rate, particularly absent the 
ability to make necessary investments in technology to support this type of 
headcount reduction, will necessarily impact our ability to protect the public.  
  

The State Bar has proposed using just over $5 million of the $9.3 million of 
reserves set aside in the Client Security Fund to fund immediate information 
technology (IT) needs, as well as the authority to use a portion of future revenue 
generated by enhanced collections activity to support additional IT investment. 
The committee’s support of this request, which would not further impact the 
licensing fee, would go a long way to ensuring the State Bar’s ability to address 
the requested funding not provided in the bill.   

 
SUPPORT 

 
California State Bar 

 
OPPOSITION 

 
None received 
 

RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
Pending Legislation: 
 
SB 940 (Umberg, 2024), among other things, authorizes the State Bar to create a program 
to certify alternative dispute resolution firms or providers, as specified. SB 940 is 
currently pending on the Assembly Floor.  
 
AB 2505 (Gabriel, 2024) requires every active licensee of the California State Bar, except 
as specified, to report whether they have provided pro bono legal services during the 
calendar year, as specified. AB 2505 is currently pending in the Senate Floor.  
 
Prior Legislation:  
 

SB 40 (Umberg, Ch. 697, Stats. 2023) authorized the State Bar to collect annual licensing 
fees in the same amount as 2022 and made other changes, including strengthen conflict 
of interest statutes and require Senate confirmation of the executive director and 

general counsel of the State Bar. 
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AB 2958 (Committee on Judiciary, Ch. 419, Stats. 2022) authorized the State Bar to 
collect annual licensing fees of $395 for active licensees and $97.40 for inactive licensees 
and enacted other reforms.  
 
SB 211 (Umberg, 2021, Ch. 723, Stats. 2021) authorized the State Bar to collect annual 
licensing fees of $395 for active licensees and $97.40 for inactive licensees and enacted 
other reforms. The bill required the Auditor’s Office to conduct an independent audit to 
determine if the discipline process adequately protects the public from misconduct by 
licensed attorneys or those who wrongfully hold themselves out as licensed attorneys. 
 
AB 3362 (Committee on Judiciary, Ch. 360, Stats. 2020) authorized the State Bar to 
collect annual licensing fees of $395 for active licensees and $97.40 for inactive licensees 
and enacted other reforms. 
 
SB 176 (Jackson, Ch. 698, Stats. 2019) authorized the State Bar to collet annual licensing 
fees of $438 for 2020 and enacted other reforms.  
 
AB 3249 (Committee on Judiciary, Ch. 659, Stats. 2018) authorized the State Bar to 
collect annual licensing fees of $390 for 2019 and enacted other reforms, including a 
strengthening of the attorney discipline system.  
 
SB 36 (Jackson, 2017, Ch. 422, Stats. 2017) authorized the State Bar to collect active 
membership dues of up to $390 for the year 2018; reformed the State Bar Act by 
separating the sections from the State Bar and creating what is now the California 
Lawyers Association; changed the composition of the State Bar Board; and enacted 
various reforms to remove politics from the Board.  

 
PRIOR VOTES 

 
Assembly Floor (Ayes 55, Noes 14) 

Assembly Judiciary Committee (Ayes 7, Noes 3) 
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