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SUBJECT 
 

Employment:  gratuities:  enforcement 
 

DIGEST 
 

This bill permits the Labor Commissioner to investigate, issue a citation for, or initiate a 
civil action for gratuities unlawfully taken or withheld by an employer. 
 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
California has some of the strongest protections across the country for workers and for 
ensuring they can be made whole when they are wronged by their employer. These 
laws include rules for a minimum wage, for rest and meal breaks, for overtime pay, for 
the timely payment of wages, and for gratuities. Unlike other states, tipped employees 
in California must be paid the full minimum wage, and tips cannot be used to meet the 
minimum wage. Instead, California law specifies that tips are the sole property of 
employees, and that an employer may not take any part of an employee’s tips, nor 
deduct or credit any tip from the employee’s wages. However, laws are only as good as 
the extent to which they are followed and enforced, and labor law violations continue to 
be a major problem across the state. When a worker files a wage claim with the Labor 
Commissioner for a labor violation, the Labor Commissioner will investigate the claim 
and may hold a hearing to adjudicate the claim, prosecute the labor law violation, or 
take no further action. The Labor Commissioner may also issue a citation for certain 
violations of labor law. However, the state’s laws regarding workers’ tips do not allow 
the Labor Commissioner to issue a citation for a violation. SB 648 would provide the 
Labor Commissioner with the authority to investigate a violation of the laws regarding 
workers’ tips, issue a citation, or initiate a civil cause of action therefor. It also would 
specify that the procedures for issuing, contesting, and enforcing such a citation are 
those for citations issued for violations of the minimum wage. SB 648 is author-
sponsored, and is supported by the California Federation of Labor Unions, AFL-CIO, 
the California Employment Lawyers Association, and a number of other unions and 
nonprofits. The Committee has received no timely letters of opposition.  
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PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE LAW 
 
Existing law: 
 
1) Establishes within the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) the Division of 

Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) under the direction of the Labor 
Commissioner, and empowers the Labor Commissioner to ensure a just day’s pay in 
every work place and to promote justice through the robust enforcement of labor 
law. Empowers the Labor Commissioner to enforce, among other things, wage and 
hour law, anti-retaliation provisions, and employer notice requirements (Lab. Code 
§§ 79 et seq.) 
 

2) Specifies certain requirements relating to an employee’s compensation, allowable 
hours of work, overtime work and pay, required rest breaks and days off, and 
guaranteed time off. (Lab. Code §§ 200-2699.8.) 

 
3) Authorizes the Labor Commissioner to investigate employee complaints, conduct 

hearings, and issue orders, decision, and awards regarding complaints. Requires 
that the Labor Commissioner notify the parties within 30 days of the filing of a 
complaint whether a hearing will be held, the Labor Commissioner will prosecute 
the case, or no further action will be taken. Requires that, if the Labor Commissioner 
will hold a hearing, that the hearing be held within 90 days of the date of that 
determination, with the option of postponement as specified. Specifies that the 
Labor Commissioner is required to provide the parties notice regarding the 
complaint and the proceeding, and allows a defendant to file an answer within 10 
days of service of the notice and complaint. (Lab. Code § 98.) 

 
4) Provides that the Labor Commissioner may prosecute any action for the collection of 

wages, penalties, and demands for any person who the Labor Commissioner 
determines is financially unable to employ counsel and has valid and enforceable 
claims. (Lab. Code § 98.3.) 

 
5) Establishes a citation process for the Labor Commissioner to enforce violations of the 

minimum wage that includes, but is not limited to, issuing citations, making and 
noticing findings as prescribed, and requiring any amounts due after a hearing be 
due 45 days after notice of the finding. Requires the Labor Commissioner to take all 
appropriate action to enforce the citation and recover the civil penalty, wages, 
liquidated damages, and applicable penalties assessed. (Labor Code §§ 1197 et seq.)  

a) Requires that a citation be in writing and describe the nature of the 
violation, the statutory provisions violated, and whether contract wages 
are unpaid. Requires the citation be served upon the employer by 
personal service, by certified mail with return receipt requested, or by 
registered mail. (Lab. Code § 1197.1(b).) 
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b) Specifies that, if a person wishes to contest a citation or the assessed 
amount for the citation, they must notify the Labor Commissioner within 
15 business days of service of the citation and request an informal hearing. 
Upon receiving such a request, the Labor Commissioner must hold a 
hearing within 30 days, after which they must affirm, modify, or dismiss 
the citation. 

c) Requires that the Labor Commissioner’s decision from the hearing on the 
citation must consist of a notice of findings, findings, and an order, which 
must be served on all parties to the hearing within 15 days of the hearing 
by first-class mail.  

d) Specifies that a party challenging the findings may take a writ of mandate 
regarding the findings to the superior court 45 days after service of the 
findings and order. Requires the party filing for the writ of mandate to 
first post a bond with the Labor Commissioner equal to the total wages 
and liquidated damages due as specified in the citation, issued in favor of 
the unpaid employees. 

e) Requires the petitioner to pay the amounts owed in a clerk’s judgment, or 
pursuant to the court judgment in the writ of mandate proceeding, or the 
amounts due in the citation or the Labor Commissioner’s findings if the 
writ of mandate is dismissed or withdrawn, unless the parties reach a 
settlement. If the employer fails to pay the amount of wages, liquidated 
damages, or overtime compensation due within 10 days of entry of 
judgment, dismissal, or withdrawal of the writ of mandate, or the 
execution of a settlement agreement, a portion of the bond equal to the 
amount owed will be forfeited by the petitioner to the Labor 
Commissioner. (Lab. Code § 1197.1(c).) 

f) Specifies that, if a person issued a citation does not contest the citation, 
they must pay to the Labor Commissioner the amount due in the citation 
within 15 days. Requires that, when a party assessed a citation does not 
contest the citation, a certified copy of the citation may be filed by the 
Labor Commissioner with the superior court in the county in which the 
person assessed had or has a place of business, and that the clerk of the 
court must enter judgment for the state against the person assessed. (Lab. 
Code § 1197.1(d)-(e).) 

 
6) Establishes the Private Attorneys General Act, providing a process through which 

an aggrieved employee may bring a civil action to recover a civil penalty for labor 
law violations on behalf of themselves and other current or former employees who 
suffered similar harm. Provides a specified civil penalty available when the 
provisions of labor code violated do not specifically provide for a civil penalty. (Lab. 
Code §§ 2699 et seq.) 
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This bill:  
 
1) Specifies that the Labor Commissioner may investigate and issue a citation, or file a 

civil action, for gratuities unlawfully taken or withheld by an employer. 
 

2) Specifies that, if the Labor Commissioner issues such a citation, the procedures for 
issuing and contesting the citation, and for enforcing a judgment for a citation, will 
be the same as those specified for a citation for a minimum wage violation under 
Labor Code section 1197.1. 
 

COMMENTS 
 
1. Author’s statement 

 
According to the author: 
 

Under current law, the Labor Commissioner’s Office or LCO, can issue citations 
for most workplace-wide violations of labor law including wages, overtime, meal 
periods and rest periods. However, the Labor Commissioner lacks citation 
authority to recover gratuities taken or withheld from employees. This bill 
provides the Labor Commissioner the authority to issue citations to recover 
gratuities taken or withheld from employees. 
 
When the LCO investigates and issues citations for wages, overtime, meal 
periods and rest periods, the citation cannot include gratuities that are taken or 
withheld from workers. In order for the LCO to recover these gratuities the LCO 
must bring a lawsuit under Labor Code section 98.3. Because tip claims cannot be 
brought in an administrative proceeding, the LCO is forced to bring both an 
administrative and civil action to address the full range of violations, which is 
not practically feasible given the LCO’s scarce resources. 
 
This bill does not establish new liability for employers. Instead, it creates more 
efficient and effective enforcement via the workplace wide citation process and 
allows the Labor Commissioner to recover for workers who may fear coming 
forward. 

 
2. California’s labor laws and their enforcement 

 
California has some of the strongest protections across the country for workers and for 
ensuring they can be made whole when they are wronged by their employer. These 
laws include rules for a minimum wage, for rest and meal breaks, for overtime pay, for 
the timely payment of wages, and for gratuities, and rules against retaliation for an 
employee asserting their rights. Many of California’s labor laws include statutory 
penalties and fines for employers who violate them. These laws ensure that California’s 
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workforce and economy are the strongest in the world and that workers’ rights, fair 
treatment and pay, and dignity are respected.  
 
However, laws are only as good as the extent to which they are followed and enforced, 
and labor law violations continue to be a major problem across the state. A 2017 study 
found that 19.2% of low-wage workers experience minimum wage violations in 
California each year, with employers stealing almost two billion dollars from California 
workers every year though minimum wage violations.1 Another study found even 
higher losses for California workers: across four metropolitan areas covering Los 
Angeles, San Diego, and the Bay Area, employers were estimated to have stolen an 
average of 2.3 to 4.6 billion dollars in earned wages from workers each year between 
2014 and 2023.2  
 
Wage theft can include a variety of labor law violations, including when an employer 
deducts a worker’s tips from their wages. However, an employer may also steal a 
worker’s tips just by withholding tips, taking a portion of a worker’s tips, purloining 
tips, or deducting a processing fee from the tip. Some research has demonstrated a 
prevalence of employers stealing workers’ tips in these ways as well. One such study 
found that 19.2% of respondent workers in Los Angeles had their tips stolen by their 
employer.3 Another study of restaurant workers in the Chinatown district of San 
Francisco found that 33.6% of respondents reported their employer keeping some or all 
of their tips.4 When an employer steals their workers’ tips, they are robbing the worker 
of their earned income, and this generally happens in industries in which workers are 
often reliant on tips for a considerable portion of their income. Tipped workers tend to 
be some of the lowest paid workers in the state’s economy, and stealing workers’ tips 
can have serious consequences for a worker’s livelihood and their ability to meet their 
basic needs. 
 
3. Tips are the sole property of workers 
 
California’s laws around tips are incredibly strong. Unlike other states, tipped 
employees in California must be paid the full minimum wage, and tips cannot be used 

                                            
1 David Cooper & Teresa Kroeger, “Employers steal billions from workers’ paychecks each year,” 
Economic Policy Institute (May 10, 2017), https://www.epi.org/publication/employers-steal-billions-
from-workers-paychecks-each-year/. 
2 Jake Barnes et al., Wage Theft in California: Minimum wage violations, 2014-2023, Rutgers School of 
Mgmt. and Lab. Rel. (May 2024), available at https://www.smlr.rutgers.edu/news-events/smlr-
news/minimum-wage-theft-rises-sharply-california. 
3 Ruth Milkman et al., Wage Theft and Workplace Violations in Los Angeles: the failure of employment 
and labor law for low-wage workers, UCLA Institute for Research on Labor and Employment, at p. 3 
(2010), available at https://labor.ucla.edu/publications/wage-theft-and-workplace-violations-in-los-
angeles/.  
4 Meredith Minkler et al., Wage Theft as a Neglected Public Health Problem: An overview and case study 
from San Francisco’s Chinatown district, Am. J. Pub. Health Vol. 104, No. 6, p. 1017 (Jun. 2014), available 
at https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4062017/.   

https://www.epi.org/publication/employers-steal-billions-from-workers-paychecks-each-year/
https://www.epi.org/publication/employers-steal-billions-from-workers-paychecks-each-year/
https://www.smlr.rutgers.edu/news-events/smlr-news/minimum-wage-theft-rises-sharply-california
https://www.smlr.rutgers.edu/news-events/smlr-news/minimum-wage-theft-rises-sharply-california
https://labor.ucla.edu/publications/wage-theft-and-workplace-violations-in-los-angeles/
https://labor.ucla.edu/publications/wage-theft-and-workplace-violations-in-los-angeles/
https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4062017/
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to meet the minimum wage. Instead, California law specifies that tips are the sole 
property of employees, and that an employer may not take any part of an employee’s 
tips, nor deduct or credit any tip from the employee’s wages. (Lab. Code § 351.) An 
employer also may not deduct a credit card processing charge from any tips paid by 
credit card. 
 
To help ensure compliance with these rules, California law requires that an employer 
keep an accurate record of all tips that they have received on behalf of employees. (Lab. 
Code § 353.) An employer must keep these records for at least three years. (Lab. Code § 
2052.) It also provides that an employer who violates any of these provisions relating to 
an employee’s tips is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, or 
imprisonment of up to 60 days. (Lab. Code § 354.)  
 
4. The Labor Commissioner’s enforcement capacity is limited 
 
When an employer has failed to pay a worker what they are owed under the law, the 
worker generally must file a wage claim with the Labor Commissioner, sue for 
damages, or file a representative civil action against the employer through California’s 
Private Attorneys General Act (PAGA). When a worker files a wage claim with the 
Labor Commissioner, the Labor Commissioner will investigate the claim. The Labor 
Commissioner must notify both parties within 30 days of the complaint as to whether a 
hearing is required to adjudicate the claim, whether the Labor Commissioner will 
prosecute the labor law violation, or whether no further action will be taken. If the 
Labor Commissioner determines a hearing is needed, it must set the matter for a 
hearing within 90 days. (Lab. Code § 98.) The Labor Commissioner must file and serve 
on each party its decision within 15 days after the hearing, after which the parties have 
10 days from the date of service to seek review of the Labor Commissioner’s decision in 
the superior court. (Lab. Code §§ 98.1, 98.2.) If no party appeals the Labor 
Commissioner’s decision by this deadline, it is deemed final, and the Labor 
Commissioner has 10 days to file a copy of the final order with the superior court. (Lab. 
Code § 98.2(d)-(e).) The superior court then enters a judgment pursuant to the final 
order that has the same force and effect as a judgment in a civil action. 
 
In certain circumstances, the Labor Commissioner also is empowered to issue citations 
for labor law violations. For example, the Labor Commissioner is empowered to issue a 
citation for unlawful retaliation or discrimination against an employee after completing 
an investigation in response to an employee complaint. (Lab. Code § 98.74.) The Labor 
Commissioner may also issue a citation to an employer who fails to meet their legal 
requirements regarding providing employees with appropriate, itemized paystubs. 
(Lab. Code § 226.4.)  
 
Additionally, the Labor Commissioner may issue a citation for failing to pay workers 
the minimum wage or for failing to pay workers on time. (Lab. Code §§ 1197.1; 210.) For 
both of these citations, Labor Code section 1197.1 specifies the procedures that the 
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Labor Commissioner must follow. The citation must describe the nature of the violation 
and the specific statutory provisions violated. If an employer wishes to contest a 
citation, they must notify the Labor Commissioner within 15 days of receiving the 
citation, and if they do, the Labor Commissioner must hold an informal hearing within 
30 days. The Labor Commissioner may affirm, modify, or dismiss the citation, and they 
must provide their findings and order within 15 days of the informal hearing. From that 
point, an employer has 45 days to challenge the Labor Commissioner’s findings in 
superior court. If an employer wants to challenge the Labor Commissioner’s decision, 
they must first post a bond in the amount of any wages or liquidated damages due 
under the Labor Commissioner’s decision. If an employer does not contest the Labor 
Commissioner’s citation within the initial 15-day window, they must pay the citation 
within 15 days of that deadline. The process for a citation is considerably shorter and 
more informal than the process for the Labor Commissioner to hold a hearing on a 
complaint, and puts the burden on the party challenging the citation to request a 
hearing. 
 
Another avenue for enforcing labor law was created by AB 594 (Maienschein, Ch. 659, 
Stats. 2023) in 2023. AB 594 clarified that public prosecutors, defined to include the 
Attorney General, a district attorney, a city attorney, a county counsel, or any other city 
or county prosecutor, can prosecute a civil or criminal violation of specified provisions 
of the Labor Code. (Lab. Code § 181(b).) AB 594 provided this power independent of the 
Labor Commissioner’s own authority to enforce the labor laws, though AB 594 required 
that public prosecutors provide a 14-day notice to DLSE before prosecuting an action. 
(Lab. Code § 181(d).) A public prosecutor is limited to bringing a prosecution related to 
a labor code violation within the prosecutor’s geographic jurisdiction, except for 
prosecutors with statewide jurisdiction or other specified authority.  
 
5. SB 648 proposes to provide the Labor Commissioner with another, more efficient 

tool for the enforcement of California’s laws around tips 
 
Labor law generally must specify if the Labor Commissioner may issue a citation 
pursuant to a violation of a particular labor law. California’s labor laws regarding 
gratuities do not provide for such citations. SB 648 would correct this by specifying that 
the Labor Commissioner may investigate and issue a citation, in addition to filing a civil 
action, for gratuities that an employer unlawfully takes or withholds from employees. 
Such a citation may be for the wrongfully taken gratuities, as well as potentially for civil 
penalties through PAGA’s default civil penalty at Labor Code section 2699(f). SB 648 
further specifies that, if a citation is issued, the procedures for that citation and 
contesting the citation are the same as those that exist for citations regarding violations 
of the minimum wage, as described above. 
 
SB 648 aims to provide the Labor Commissioner with a more efficient way to enforce 
California’s laws regarding tips. Indeed, the process for issuing and contesting citations 
is less onerous than the process of a civil action in court or the Labor Commissioner’s 
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hearing process between a complainant and their employer under Labor Code section 
98, so that providing citation authority will allow the Labor Commissioner to more 
easily pursue violations regarding workers’ tips. Additionally, when an employer 
violates the laws regarding tips, they often also have a variety of other labor law 
violations as well, such as for minimum wage or unpaid wages. Violations for not 
paying workers minimum wage and for nonpayment of wages can both be enforced 
through a citation. By allowing the Labor Commissioner to enforce the laws regarding 
workers’ tips through a citation, the Labor Commissioner would be able to issue 
citations for those violations along with citations for any other violations that also allow 
for a citation by the Labor Commissioner. As SB 648 relies on the citation procedures 
that are already law for minimum wage violations, the Labor Commissioner would not 
be required to implement a new process for these citations. Thus, SB 648 would 
arguably provide the Labor Commissioner with more tools and authority to more 
effectively enforce violations of the state’s laws regarding workers’ tips. 
 
6. Arguments in support  
 
According the California Federation of Labor Unions, AFL-CIO, which supports SB 648: 
 

California law states that employees are the sole owners of tips and gratuities, 
and that employers cannot take any portion of them. This means that employers 
cannot take tips or deduct from or credit them against workers’ wages. Low-
wage workers often depend on tips to make ends meet, especially if they are 
making at or close to minimum wage. 
 
The Labor Commissioner can issue citations for most violations of labor law 
including wages, overtime, meal periods, and rest periods, which allows for 
efficient enforcement of the law. However, the Labor Commissioner lacks 
citation authority to recover gratuities taken or withheld from employees. 
Currently, the only procedure for the Labor Commissioner to recover stolen 
gratuities is through filing an action in court. 
 
Tipped workers have difficulty bringing forward individual claims for unpaid 
gratuities because the amounts are too small. Because the claims for gratuities 
cannot be brought in an administrative proceeding, the Labor Commissioner 
must bring both an administrative and civil action to address the full range of 
violations in its workplace-wide cases. In most cases, it is impractical to bring a 
civil lawsuit for such small amounts. Since it is also impractical for workers to 
bring a separate claim or lawsuit for such small amounts, scofflaw employers 
have little deterrent to taking workers’ tips. 

 
SUPPORT 

 
California Coalition for Worker Power 
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California Employment Lawyers Association 
California Federation of Labor Unions, AFL-CIO 
California Teamsters Public Affairs Council 
Courage California 
End Poverty in California Action Aka Epic Action, a Project of Tides Advocacy 
Unite Here International Union, AFL-CIO 
 

OPPOSITION 
 
None received. 
 

RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
Pending Legislation: 
 
SB 261 (Wahab, 2025) requires the Labor Commissioner to post to its website a copy of 
orders, decisions, or awards filed by the Labor Commissioner and the information of 
employers with unsatisfied judgments, as specified, and establishes a civil penalty for a 
final judgment for nonpayment of wages that remains unpaid for 180 days. SB 261 is 
currently pending before the Senate Appropriations Committee. 
 
AB 1234 (Ortega, 2025) revises the process for the Labor Commissioner to investigate 
and hear employee complaints, and makes other changes to the process by which a 
party may appeal an order, decision, or award made by the Labor Commissioner. AB 
1234 is currently pending in the Assembly Labor and Employment Committee. 
 
Prior Legislation: 
 

AB 594 (Maienschein, Ch. 659, Stats. 2023) authorized the Attorney General, district 
attorneys, city attorneys, county counsel, or any other city or county prosecutors to 
enforce specified provisions of the Labor Code, as specified. AB 594 provided for its 
provisions to be repealed on January 1, 2029. 
 
SB 796 (Dunn, Ch. 906, Stats. 2004) created the Labor Code Private Attorneys General 
Act of 2004, providing that an employee may bring a civil action on behalf of 
themselves and other employees who were subjected to a violation of the labor code by 
their employer, instead of pursuing their claim through the enforcement agency.  
 
AB 2509 (Steinberg, Ch. 876, Stats. 2000) revised the processes for the Labor 
Commissioner to conduct administrative hearings and issue orders, decisions, and 
awards for violations of labor law, and prohibited employers from receiving or 
deducting gratuities paid by patrons directly to a dancer subject to specified orders of 
the commission. AB 2509 also required employers to remit to their employees gratuities 
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paid by credit card, without deduction for credit card fees, not later than the next 
regular payday following the date the credit card payment is authorized by the patron. 
  

PRIOR VOTES: 
 

Senate Committee on Labor, Public Employment, and Retirement (Ayes 5, Noes 0) 
 

************** 
 


