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SUBJECT 
 

California Combating Auto Retail Scams (CARS) Act 
 

DIGEST 
 

This bill establishes new consumer protections in connection with the vehicle buying 
and leasing process based off of a previous Federal Trade Commission (FTC) rule. 
 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
In response to concerns about deceptive practices in the vehicle sales context, the FTC 
finalized the Combating Auto Retail Scams (CARS) Rule in January 2024, a robust 
consumer protection framework:  
 

The primary purpose of the FTC’s CARS Rule is to add truth and 
transparency to the car buying and leasing process by making it clear that 
certain deceptive or unfair practices are illegal – for example, bait-and-
switch tactics, hidden charges, and other conduct that harms consumers 
and honest dealers. Why is it called the CARS Rule? Because the Rule is 
about Combating Auto Retail Scams that cost consumers billions of 
dollars each year and cause honest dealers to lose business.1 

 
The rule was subsequently vacated on procedural grounds; however, this bill seeks to 
implement many of the protections of the FTC CARS rule by establishing the California 
Combating Auto Retail Scams (CARS) Act. The bill is author-sponsored. It is supported 
by a large coalition of consumer groups and legal aid organizations, including 
Consumers for Auto Reliability and Safety and Bet Tzedek. It is opposed by vehicle 

                                            
1 FTC CARS Rule: Combating Auto Retail Scams – A Dealers Guide (December 2023) FTC, 
https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/ftc-cars-rule-combating-auto-retail-scams-dealers-
guide#:~:text=CARS%20Rule%20does:-
,The%20CARS%20Rule%20prohibits%20misrepresentations%20about%20material%20information.,mater
ial%E2%80%9D%20mean%20in%20this%20context?. All internet citations are current as of April 23, 2025. 

https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/ftc-cars-rule-combating-auto-retail-scams-dealers-guide#:~:text=CARS%20Rule%20does:-,The%20CARS%20Rule%20prohibits%20misrepresentations%20about%20material%20information.,material%E2%80%9D%20mean%20in%20this%20context
https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/ftc-cars-rule-combating-auto-retail-scams-dealers-guide#:~:text=CARS%20Rule%20does:-,The%20CARS%20Rule%20prohibits%20misrepresentations%20about%20material%20information.,material%E2%80%9D%20mean%20in%20this%20context
https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/ftc-cars-rule-combating-auto-retail-scams-dealers-guide#:~:text=CARS%20Rule%20does:-,The%20CARS%20Rule%20prohibits%20misrepresentations%20about%20material%20information.,material%E2%80%9D%20mean%20in%20this%20context
https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/ftc-cars-rule-combating-auto-retail-scams-dealers-guide#:~:text=CARS%20Rule%20does:-,The%20CARS%20Rule%20prohibits%20misrepresentations%20about%20material%20information.,material%E2%80%9D%20mean%20in%20this%20context


SB 766 (Allen) 
Page 2 of 15  
 

 

dealers and industry groups, including the California New Car Dealers Association and 
Carvana. The bill passed out of the Senate Transportation Committee on a 9 to 3 vote.  
 

PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE LAW 
 
Existing law: 
 

1) No person shall act as a dealer, remanufacturer, manufacturer, or transporter, or 
as a manufacturer branch, remanufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor 
branch, without having first been issued a license as required. (Veh. Code § 
11700.) 
 

2) Prohibits a licensed dealer from certain practices, including making or 
disseminating a statement that is untrue or misleading and that is known, or that 
by the exercise of reasonable care should be known, to be untrue or misleading; 
or to so make or disseminate, or cause to be so disseminated, a statement as part 
of a plan or scheme with the intent not to sell a vehicle or service so advertised at 
the price stated therein, or as so advertised. (Veh. Code § 11713.)  

  
3) Establishes the Consumer Legal Remedies Act (CLRA), which prohibits unfair 

methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices undertaken by 
any person in a transaction intended to result or which results in the sale or lease 
of goods or services to any consumer. (Civ. Code § 1750 et seq.) 
 

4) Provides that any consumer who suffers any damage as a result of the use or 
employment by any person of a method, act, or practice declared to be unlawful 
by Section 1770 of the Civil Code may bring an action against that person to 
recover or obtain any of the following: 

a) actual damages, but in no case shall the total award of damages in a class 
action be less than $1,000; 

b) an order enjoining the methods, acts, or practices; 
c) restitution of property; 
d) punitive damages;  
e) court costs and attorney’s fees to a prevailing plaintiff. However, 

reasonable attorney’s fees may be awarded to a prevailing defendant 
upon a finding by the court that the plaintiff’s prosecution of the action 
was not in good faith; and  

f) any other relief that the court deems proper. (Civ. Code § 1780(a), (e).) 
 

5) Establishes the Unfair Competition Law (UCL), which provides a statutory cause 
of action for any unlawful, unfair, or fraudulent business act or practice and 
unfair, deceptive, untrue, or misleading advertising, including over the internet. 
(Bus. & Prof. Code § 17200 et seq.)  
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6) Establishes the False Advertising Law (FAL), which proscribes making or 
disseminating any statement that is known or should be known to be untrue or 
misleading with intent to directly or indirectly dispose of real or personal 
property. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17500 et seq.)  
 

7) Provides remedies for individuals who have suffered damages as a result of 
fraud or deceit, including situations involving fraudulent misrepresentations.  
(See Civil Code §§ 1709-1710, 1572-1573.) 

 
This bill:  
 

1) Establishes the California Combating Auto Retail Scams (CARS) Act. 
 
2) Provides that a failure of a dealer to comply shall be considered an unfair 

method of competition and an unfair or deceptive act or practice under 
subdivision (a) of Section 1770 of the Civil Code. Moreover, a violation of this 
section is actionable under the CLRA, the UCL, and the FAL.  
 

3) Deems it a violation of the CARS Act for any dealer to make any 
misrepresentation, expressly or by implication, regarding material information 
about any of the following: 

a) The costs or terms of purchasing, financing, or leasing a vehicle. 
b) Any costs, limitation, benefit, or any other aspect of an add-on product or 

service. 
c) Whether the terms are, or transaction is, for a purchase or a lease. 
d) The availability of any rebates or discounts that are factored into the 

advertised price but are not available to all car buyers or lessees. 
e) The availability of vehicles at an advertised price. 
f) Whether any consumer has been or will be preapproved or guaranteed for 

any product, service, or term. 
g) Information on or about a consumer’s application for financing. 
h) The time at which the transaction is final or binding on all parties. 
i) Whether the dealer will keep cash down payments or trade-in vehicles, 

charge fees, or initiate legal process, or any action if a transaction is not 
finalized or if the consumer does not go forward with the transaction. 

j) Whether, and if so, when, a dealer will pay off some or all of the financing 
or a lease on a consumer’s trade-in vehicle, and what happens if a dealer 
fails to pay off the trade-in vehicle within the time period required by 
Section 11709.4 of the Vehicle Code. 

k) The remedy available if a dealer fails to sell or lease a vehicle at the 
offering price. 

l) Whether the dealer or any of the dealer’s personnel or products or services 
is or was affiliated with, endorsed or approved by, or otherwise associated 
with the United States government or any federal, state, or local 
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governmental agency, unit, or department, including the United States 
Department of Defense or its military departments. 

m) Whether, or under what circumstances, a vehicle may be repossessed. 
n) Whether, or under what circumstances, a vehicle may be moved, 

including across state lines or out of the country. 
o) Any of the required disclosures identified in this title.   

 
4) Requires, in connection with the sale or financing of a vehicle, a vehicle’s offering 

price to be disclosed as follows: 
a) In any advertisement that references, expressly or by implication, a 

specific vehicle for sale. 
b) In any advertisement that represents, expressly or by implication, any 

monetary amount or financing term for any vehicle. 
c) In any communication with a consumer that includes a reference, 

expressly or by implication, regarding a specific vehicle for sale, or any 
monetary amount or financing term for any vehicle, as specified.  

 
5) Requires a dealer, when making any representation, expressly or by implication, 

directly or indirectly, about an add-on product or service, to disclose that the 
add-on is not required and the consumer can purchase or lease the vehicle 
without the add-on. This disclosure shall be in writing and shall be clear and 
conspicuous, and in the same language in which the contract was negotiated. 
 

6) Requires a dealer, when making any representation, expressly or by implication, 
directly or indirectly, about a monthly payment for any vehicle, to disclose 
clearly and conspicuously and in writing the total amount the consumer will pay 
to purchase or lease the vehicle at that monthly payment after making all 
payments as scheduled. If the total amount disclosed assumes the consumer will 
provide consideration, including in the form of a cash down payment or trade-in 
valuation, the dealer shall disclose in writing in the same language in which the 
contract was negotiated the amount of consideration to be provided. 

 
7) Provides that, if the dealer makes any comparison between payment options, 

expressly or by implication, directly or indirectly, that includes discussion of a 
lower monthly payment, the dealer shall disclose that the lower monthly 
payment will increase the total amount the consumer will pay to purchase or 
lease the vehicle, if true. If the representation is in writing, the disclosure must be 
in writing.   
 

8) Prohibits a dealer from charging for the following:  
a) An add-on product or service if the vehicle purchaser or lessee would not 

benefit from the an add-on product or service, including products or 
services that do not provide coverage for the vehicle, the consumer, or the 
transaction, or that are duplicative of warranty coverage for the vehicle, or 
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a service contract if the service contract includes a limit that would not 
cover the market value price for the repair of a covered item under the 
service contract, or if the service contract is void due to preexisting 
conditions, including prior damage from a crash or flood or preexisting 
mechanical conditions. 

b) Provides that a dealer may not fail to pay the person or entity who is 
supposed to provide the benefit of the add-on within 10 days of the date 
when the car buyer or lessee signs the purchase or lease. 

 
9) Provides that a dealer shall not sell or lease a used vehicle at retail at a price 

equal to or less than $48,000, as adjusted, to an entity or individual without 
providing the purchaser or lessee with a three-business-day right to cancel the 
purchase or lease. The dealer must provide a disclosure clearly and 
conspicuously setting forth this right to cancel and contain specified information, 
including:  

a) A statement specifying the time within which the buyer shall exercise the 
right to cancel. 

b) A statement that clearly and conspicuously discloses that the dealer may 
charge the purchaser or lessee a restocking fee only if the purchaser or 
lessee exercises the right to cancel and that the fee will be determined by 
multiplying the cash price of the vehicle on the purchase contract or the 
agreed-upon value for the vehicle on the lease agreement by the number 
of miles the vehicle was driven since the purchase or lease and divide that 
number by 150,000. In addition to any restocking fee, a dealer may charge 
a daily use fee of not more than $60 for each day that the vehicle was in 
the customer’s possession. 

 
10) Prohibits certain actions on the part of the dealer in connection with the right to 

cancel, including overcharging, failing to timely refund the down payment, and 
impeding in any way the exercise of this right.  

 
11) Requires dealers to retain records for at least two years to demonstrate 

compliance herewith, including copies of advertisement, purchase orders, 
financing and lease documents, cancelation requests, and written complaints.  
 

12) Repeals existing law regarding the required sale of a contract cancellation option 
agreement.  
 

13) Prohibits waiver, includes a severability clause, and clarifies that it does not limit 
or alter the remedies and liabilities set forth in other laws.  
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14) Defines relevant terms, including:  
a) “Clear and conspicuous” or “clearly and conspicuously” means in a 

manner that is difficult to miss and easily understandable, including in all 
of the following ways: 

i. In any communication that is solely visual or solely audible, the 
disclosure shall be made through the same means through which 
the communication is presented. In any communication made 
through both visual and audible means, including a television 
advertisement or video, the disclosure shall be presented 
simultaneously in both the visual and audible portions of the 
communication even if the representation requiring the disclosure 
is made through only one means. 

ii. A visual disclosure, by its size, contrast, location, the length of time 
it appears, and other characteristics, shall stand out from any 
accompanying text or other visual elements so that it is easily 
noticed, read, and understood. 

iii. An audible disclosure, including by telephone or streaming video, 
shall be delivered in a volume, speed, and cadence sufficient for 
ordinary consumers to easily hear and understand it. 

iv. In any communication using an interactive electronic medium, 
including the internet or software, the disclosure shall be 
unavoidable. 

v. The disclosure shall use diction and syntax understandable to 
ordinary consumers and shall be provided in each language in 
which the representation that requires the disclosure appears. 

vi. The disclosure shall comply with these requirements in each 
medium through which it is received. 

vii. The disclosure shall not be contradicted or mitigated by, or 
inconsistent with, anything else in the communication. 

b) “Dealer” means a licensed California motor vehicle dealer or a dealer as 
defined in Section 285 of the Vehicle Code. 

c) “Material” or “materially” means likely to affect a person’s choice of, or 
conduct regarding, goods or services. 

 
COMMENTS 

 
1. California’s consumer protection laws 

 
The Legislature has long considered consumer protection to be a matter of high 
importance. State law is replete with statutes aimed at protecting California consumers 
from unfair, dishonest, or harmful market practices. These consumer-protection laws 
authorize consumers to enforce their own rights and seek remedies to make them 
whole.  
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The UCL (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17200) provides remedies for “anything that can properly 
be called a business practice and that at the same time is forbidden by law.” (Cel-Tech 
Communications, Inc. v. Los Angeles Cellular Telephone Co. (1999) 20 Cal.4th 163, 180 
[citations omitted].) The UCL provides that a court “may make such orders or 
judgments . . . as may be necessary to restore to any person in interest any money or 
property, real or personal, which may have been acquired by means of such unfair 
competition.” (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17203; see also Korea Supply Co. v. Lockheed Martin 
Corp. (2003) 29 Cal.4th 1134, 1146 [“An order for restitution, then, is authorized by the 
clear language of the [UCL.”]].) The law also permits courts to award injunctive relief 
and, in certain cases, to assess civil penalties against the violator. (Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 
17203, 17206.)  
 
The FAL proscribes making or disseminating any statement that is known or should be 
known to be untrue or misleading with intent to directly or indirectly dispose of real or 
personal property. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17500 et seq.) Violators are subject to a civil 
penalty not to exceed $2,500 for each violation in an action brought by the Attorney 
General or by any district attorney, county counsel, or city attorney. (Bus. & Prof. Code 
§ 17536.) Similar to the UCL, the FAL provides that a person may bring an action for an 
injunction or restitution if the person has suffered injury in fact and has lost money or 
property as a result of a violation of the FAL. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17535.) 
 
The CLRA was enacted “to protect the statute’s beneficiaries from deceptive and unfair 
business practices,” and to provide aggrieved consumers with “strong remedial 
provisions for violations of the statute.” (Am. Online, Inc. v. Superior Court (2001) 90 
Cal.App.4th 1, 11.) The CLRA prohibits “unfair methods of competition and unfair or 
deceptive acts or practices undertaken by any person in a transaction intended to result 
or which results in the sale or lease of goods or services to any consumer,” (Civ. Code § 
1770(a)), and prohibits conduct “likely to mislead a reasonable consumer.” (Colgan v. 
Leatherman Tool Grp., Inc. (2006) 135 Cal. App. 4th 663, 680; internal quotation marks 
omitted.)  
 
Among other things, the CLRA prohibits merchants from “representing that a 
transaction confers or involves rights, remedies, or obligations which it does not have or 
involve, or which are prohibited by law,” or representing that goods “are of a particular 
standard, quality, or grade” when they are of another. (Civ. Code § 1770.) Consumers 
who are harmed by unlawful practices specified in the Act have a right of action under 
the CLRA to recover damages and other remedies, including actual damages; an order 
to enjoin the unlawful act; restitution; punitive damages; or any other relief that the 
court deems proper. (Civ. Code § 1780.)  
 

2. Consumer complaints and the FTC CARS Rule 
 
Car buying and dealership experiences consistently rank among the most frustrating 
consumer transactions, generating an overwhelming volume of complaints to 
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regulatory agencies each year. The process is notoriously plagued by hidden fees, high-
pressure sales tactics, confusing financing terms, and bait-and-switch advertising that 
lures customers with promises rarely fulfilled. Consumers frequently report feeling 
manipulated through complex pricing structures deliberately designed to obscure the 
true cost of vehicles, while dealership financing departments often push expensive add-
ons and extended warranties of questionable value. The asymmetry of information 
between professional salespeople and occasional car buyers creates an environment 
where consumers feel vulnerable and distrustful, with many reporting 
misrepresentations about vehicle history, condition, or warranty coverage that only 
become apparent after purchase. This persistent pattern of dissatisfaction has made 
automotive transactions a perennial leader in consumer complaint rankings despite 
decades of attempted reforms and regulations. According to reports, the number one 
consumer complaint in 2022 pertained to the sales and repairs of new and used vehicles, 
holding the spot for seven years running.2  
 
The FTC provides an introduction to their, now vacated, CARS rule, which sought to 
address these consumer issues:  
 

Buying or leasing a car is a major financial commitment and it’s a transaction 
that consumers have often approached with apprehension or uncertainty. 
Indeed, according to the public comments the FTC received as part of 
rulemaking process for the CARS Rule, many consumers believe they have 
been subjected to deceptive or unfair practices when buying or leasing a car – 
especially bait-and-switch tactics and hidden charges. Particularly troubling 
were reports from servicemembers about deceptive and predatory practices 
near military installations, and from car dealers about losing business to 
dishonest dealerships. Those comments underscore what the FTC has 
observed in decades of law enforcement actions: that unscrupulous 
dealerships have used illegal tactics to close a deal – conduct that costs 
consumers time and money and puts honest dealers at an unfair 
disadvantage. 
 
The Federal Trade Commission’s Combating Auto Retail Scams Trade 
Regulation Rule – the CARS Rule, for short – ushers in a new era of 
transparency in car buying and leasing. Most importantly, the Rule explains 
how long-standing principles of truth in advertising and fair dealing apply 
when people go car shopping. 
 
The CARS Rule is a big win for consumers, who can expect that established 
standards of truth and transparency that apply in other consumer 
transactions will also apply when they’re looking to buy or lease a car. What’s 

                                            
2 Jeanne Sahadi, No surprises here: These are the top US consumer complaints, from cars to credit cards (May 24, 
2023) CNN, https://www.cnn.com/2023/05/24/economy/top-consumer-complaints/index.html.  

https://www.cnn.com/2023/05/24/economy/top-consumer-complaints/index.html


SB 766 (Allen) 
Page 9 of 15  
 

 

more, now they can point to specific legal provisions that will help protect 
them in the process. If consumers see that a dealer is complying with the 
CARS Rule, it adds a measure of confidence. But if they spot a dealer who 
flouts those protections, consumers may take their business elsewhere.  
 
The CARS Rule also is a big win for honest industry members who already 
implement the Rule’s principles of truth and transparency at their 
dealerships. Most salespeople can recount a story of losing a sale to a cross-
town competitor who used questionable tactics to lure away a prospective 
customer. That shouldn’t happen. Dealers who work hard to treat customers 
fairly shouldn’t have to go head-to-head against competitors who resort to 
deception to close a deal. The CARS Rule establishes clear rules of the road 
that apply to all car dealers – meaning that consumers will be able to 
comparison shop based on truthful claims about price, financing, and service. 
When all dealers are held to the same clear standards, dealers who meet (or 
exceed) consumers’ expectations have a fair shot at winning the sale, gaining 
customers’ loyalty, and earning a word-of-mouth reputation as the dealer to 
do business with. Another benefit is that the CARS Rule accomplishes these 
goals without requiring consumers or dealers to fill out more paperwork. . . .    
 
Here’s a summary of what the CARS Rule does: 
 

 The CARS Rule prohibits misrepresentations about material 
information. 

 The CARS Rule requires dealers to clearly disclose the offering price – 
the actual price anyone can pay to get the car, excluding only required 
government charges. Before they visit the dealership and throughout 
the transaction, consumers have the right to know the drive-off-the-lot 
price. If a dealer mentions optional add-ons, the dealer has to tell the 
consumer they can say no. And if discussing a monthly payment, the 
dealer has to tell the consumer the total payment.  

 The CARS Rule makes it illegal for dealers to charge consumers for 
add-ons that don’t provide a benefit. 

 The CARS Rule requires dealers to get consumers’ express, informed 
consent before charging them for anything. 

 
3. The California CARS Act  

 
Taking the lead from the recently vacated FTC CARS rule, this bill establishes a 
California equivalent, closely modeled after the FTC rule.  
 
The bill prohibits misrepresentations regarding material information about specific 
terms in connection with vehicle sales. This includes information about the costs or 
terms of purchasing, financing, or leasing a vehicle; the availability of vehicles at an 
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advertised price; and the availability of rebates or discounts that are factored into 
advertised prices but not available to all car buyers.  
 
The bill also looks to address transparency concerns by requiring certain disclosures to 
consumers. For example, a vehicle’s offering price must be disclosed in specified 
situations, such as in any advertisements or consumer communications that reference a 
specific vehicle. The bill also addresses concerns with add-on products or services; these 
are products or services not provided to the purchaser or lessee or installed on the 
vehicle by the vehicle manufacturer and for which the dealer, directly or indirectly, 
charges a purchaser or lessee in connection with a vehicle sale, lease, or financing 
transaction. When making any representation about these add-ons, dealers are required 
to disclose that they are not required and that the consumer can purchase or lease the 
vehicle without them. Similar disclosure requirements are imposed for representations 
about monthly payments. All of these required disclosures by the dealer must be made 
clearly and conspicuously.  
 
The bill further addresses certain unfair practices by prohibiting dealers from charging 
for certain products and services, such as add-on products that would not provide any 
benefit to the consumer, such as nitrogen-filled tires or products or services that do not 
provide coverage for the vehicle, the consumer, or the transaction, or that are 
duplicative of warranty coverage for the vehicle. 
 
Current law provides that a dealer that sells specified used vehicles at retail to an 
individual for personal, family, or household use must offer the buyer a contract 
cancellation option agreement that allows the buyer to return the vehicle without cause. 
However, this does not apply to a used vehicle having a purchase price of $40,000 or 
more, a motorcycle, or a recreational vehicle. The consumer must purchase this option 
to take advantage of it. This bill repeals that section and instead requires dealers to 
provide consumers an automatic 3-business-day right to cancel for used vehicles 
costing $48,000 or less, as provided. The dealer is authorized to charge a specified 
restocking fee, based on the purchase price of the vehicle, and a daily use fee of $60.  
 
There is also a documentation and retention component of the bill. It requires dealers to 
retain records sufficient to prove compliance herewith, including copies of 
advertisements, purchase orders, financing and lease documents, cancelation requests, 
and written complaints. 
 
To ensure meaningful enforcement, the bill makes a violation thereof an unfair method 
of competition and an unfair or deceptive act or practice pursuant to the CLRA. It 
explicitly states that violations are actionable under the CLRA, the UCL, and the FAL. 
 
According to the author:  
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This important legislation increases protections for consumers purchasing 
a car by codifying the Federal Trade Commission’s (FTC) CARS rule and 
by creating a 3-business-day “cooling-off” period to return used cars. 
Complaints about unfair and deceptive sales practices in the car 
purchasing process have been consistently at or near the top sources of 
consumer complaints across all sectors. Common complaints include lack 
of transparency on the full price of the vehicle, the monthly payment, the 
down payment, whether the car is for purchase or lease, and the 
availability of discounts and rebates. Other common complaints are 
misrepresentations about add-on services and features, along with 
misrepresentations about affiliations with the Department of Defense or 
US Armed Forces that target service members and veterans. To address 
these pervasive problems, the FTC developed rules to prohibit car dealers 
from misrepresenting the price of the car, require dealers to be transparent 
about optional add-on services and features, prohibit add-on services and 
features that do not benefit the consumer, and provide additional benefits 
for service members and veterans.  
 
However, these rules were prevented from being implemented on purely 
administrative grounds, unfortunately leaving consumers without these 
well-developed protections. In addition, it is common for consumers to 
face pressure to purchase a vehicle when they may have been misled on 
key details, particularly in the case of used cars where problems with the 
vehicle may not be initially obvious. While it is a standard practice for 
sellers to have 10 days to cancel a purchase agreement or change the 
terms, buyers under current law only have 2 days to return a vehicle and 
must pre-purchase this ability. To ensure consumers in California are 
protected from scams, misrepresentations, and have sufficient time to 
thoroughly read the purchase agreement, catch issues with the car, and 
mirror standard practices for sellers, SB 766 codifies the CARS Rule and 
creates a 3-business-day cooling-off period for used car buyers to return 
their vehicle and receive a refund if the value does not exceed $48,000 and 
the miles driven do not exceed 400, while permitting sellers to charge a 
restocking fee to avoid potential losses. 

 
4. Stakeholder positions 

 
A large coalition of consumer and advocacy groups and legal aid organizations, 
including UnidosUS, Consumer Reports, and the Watsonville Law Center, write in 
support:  
 

If enacted, the Act will improve protections for millions of California new 
and used car buyers and their families and communities, including 
Members of the U.S. Armed Forces, as well as honest car dealers. 
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At a time when the average price of a new vehicle has skyrocketed to over 
$47,000 and the average price of a used vehicle has risen to over $26,000, 
the Act is needed to address the #1 source of consumer complaints to state 
and local consumer protection agencies and the Better Business Bureau: 
auto sales. 
 
According to the U.S. Federal Trade Commission, which promulgated the 
federal Combating Auto Retail Scams (CARS) Rule, implementation of the 
Rule would have saved American car buyers over $3.4 billion each year, 
and another 72 million hours annually otherwise spent shopping and 
haggling over buying a car. The FTC’s rule was recently overturned by a 
split decision in the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal on procedural grounds, 
finding that 10 years was not sufficient time for the FTC to consider the 
Rule. However, the Court did not rule on the merits. 
 
The FTC’s proposed Rule was supported by over 25,000 individuals who 
commented in favor of the Rule, as well as attorneys general from 18 
states (including California Attorney General Rob Bonta), economists, 
coalitions representing military servicemembers and veterans, and auto 
dealers who have a policy of being honest, open, and transparent about 
pricing and about the condition of the vehicles they offer for sale – finding 
it difficult to compete with dealers who engage in scamming the car 
buying public. 

 
A large coalition of dealers’ associations and industry organizations, including 
Enterprise Mobility and the Civil Justice Association of California, write in opposition:  
 

The California New Car Dealers Association (CNCDA) and the 
organizations listed below strongly oppose SB 766 (Allen), which seeks to 
import the Federal Trade Commission’s (FTC) flawed and recently 
vacated Rule on Combating Auto Retail Scams (CARS Rule) into 
California law. As recently amended, SB 766 still contains significant 
ambiguities and unworkable new requirements that will inevitably invite 
a surge of new lawsuits against California dealerships throughout the 
state. By forcing dealers to provide a litany of duplicative and unnecessary 

disclosures throughout the car buying process, SB 766 will also 
substantially increase the length of vehicle transactions, leading to 
customer frustration at a time when dealerships and the Legislature 
should be working together to identify ways to streamline the process. 
 
Additionally, SB 766 provides purchasers of used vehicles 3 “business 
days” to return the vehicle, which in practice means 3 to 5 (and potentially 
7) calendar days. The low restocking and daily rate fees allowed by SB 766 
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create a financial incentive for customers to purchase and return used 
vehicles instead of renting vehicles. Dealers will also see far more vehicle 
returns and will be required to adjust used vehicle prices upward to 
account for the likelihood that the customer will return the vehicle. 
 
Notwithstanding these concerns, the purported problems that SB 766 
seeks to address are already covered by California’s existing and robust 
laws governing vehicle sales and lease transactions. 

 
In response to some of the concerns from opposition, the author has agreed to 
amendments that further refine the definition of “offering price,” reduce the 
redundancies of certain disclosures, narrow the document retention requirements, and 
provides additional examples of what constitutes an add-on product or service that a 
consumer would not benefit from. These are in addition to the significant amendments 
taken in the previous committee as highlighted by Consumers for Auto Reliability and 
Safety:  
 

In direct response to issues raised by the opponents, more than a dozen 
amendments adopted in the Senate Committee on Transportation make major, 
significant changes to the bill, while preserving important benefits for car buyers, 
including the following amendments: 
 

 Removal of definition and provisions regarding “express, informed consent” 
(restoring existing robust disclosure requirements in the existing Car Buyers 
Bill of Rights, at Civil Code Section 2982.2) 

 Removal of provision saying signature would not qualify as informed express 
consent 

 Removal of provision saying prechecked boxes fail to quality as informed 
express consent 

 10-day cooling off period for used cars reduced to just 3 business days – 
substantially less than the time periods currently offered by major auto 
dealers that sell used vehicles in California – Carmax offers 10 days, 
AutoNation 5 days, and Carvana 7 days for used car buyers to return used 
vehicles for a refund. 

 Mileage cap for returning used cars during the cooling off period reduced 
from 2,000 miles to 400 miles 

 $48,000 cap on the price of used vehicles covered by the cooling off period, 
adjusted for inflation based on the Consumer Price Index 

 Restocking fee increased to add an additional $60 per day to the mileage 
formula in the bill (to address concern about repeat returns in lieu of renting a 
car) – note: based on information on their websites, it appears that CarMax, 
AutoNation and Carvana do not charge any restocking fee, aside from 
Carvana’s charge of $1 per mile driven in excess of 400 miles 



SB 766 (Allen) 
Page 14 of 15  
 

 

 Removal of definition and provisions regarding “express, informed consent” 
(restoring existing robust disclosure requirements in the Car Buyers Bill of 
Rights, at Civil Code Section 2982.2) 

 Removal of provision saying signature would not qualify as informed express 
consent 

 Removal of provision saying prechecked boxes fail to quality as informed 
express consent 

 Safe harbor for sales of Guaranteed Asset Protection (GAP) products, 
provided dealers comply with AB 2311, enacted pursuant to negotiations 
between Attorney General Bonta and the California New Car Dealers 
Association 

 Reducing the time period for dealers to retain relevant documents such as 
advertisements from 7 years to 2 years, provided dealers continue to comply 
with the existing law regarding document retention, at Civil Code Section 
2984.5. 

 
SUPPORT 

Americans for Financial Reform 
Bet Tzedek 
California Low-Income Consumer Coalition 
CALPIRG 
Center for Auto Safety 
Centro Legal De LA Raza 
Coalition for Clean Air 
Community Legal Services in East Palo Alto 
Consumer Attorneys of California 
Consumer Federation of America 
Consumer Federation of California 
Consumer Protection Policy Center/USD School of Law 
Consumer Reports 
Consumers for Auto Reliability & Safety 
Contra Costa Senior Legal Services 
Elder Law & Advocacy 
Housing and Economic Rights Advocates 
Legal Aid of Marin 
Legal Assistance for Seniors 
Legal Assistance to the Elderly 
National Association of Consumer Advocates (NACA) 
National Consumer Law Center, INC. 
National Consumers League 
Open Door Legal 
Public Citizen 
Public Counsel 
Public Law Center 
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Rise Economy 
Riverside Legal Aid 
Santa Clara Law 
UnidosUS 
Watsonville Law Center 
 

OPPOSITION 
American Financial Services Association 
California Bankers Association 
California Chamber of Commerce 
California Community Banking Network 
California Credit Union League 
California Financial Services Association 
California New Car Dealers Association 
Carvana 
CMDA-California Motorcycle Dealers Association 
Insurance Auto Auctions, Inc.  
 

RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
Pending Legislation: SB 791 (Cortese, 2025) increases the document processing fee a 
dealer can charge when a buyer/lessee purchases a car. SB 791 is currently on the 
Senate Floor.  
 
Prior Legislation:  
 

SB 26 (Umberg, Ch. 1, Stats. 2025) made changes to the recently amended California 
“Lemon Law” to establish a mechanism for manufacturers to opt in to this new process. 
It restricted a consumer from seeking civil penalties in such actions unless the consumer 
provides written notice to a prospective buyer or recipient, as provided. SB 26 delayed 
the effective date of newly enacted procedural guidelines for such cases. 
 
AB 1755 (Kalra & Umberg, Ch. 938, Stats. 2024) amended the procedure for seeking 
specified remedies pursuant to the Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act (the Song-
Beverly Act) in connection with nonconforming motor vehicles. 
 
AB 2311 (Maienschein, Ch. 283, Stats. 2022) established some baseline consumer 
protections in connection with the sale of GAP waivers. It implemented a number of 
disclosure requirements and provided consumers the right to cancel GAP waivers at 
any time, as provided.  
 

PRIOR VOTES: 
 

Senate Transportation Committee (Ayes 9, Noes 3) 
************** 


