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SUBJECT 
 

State Bar:  open meetings:  discipline:  attorneys:  foreign legal consultants:  annual 
license fees 

 
DIGEST 

 
This bill would authorize the State Bar of California (State Bar) to collect annual license 
fees of $395 for active licensees and $97.40 for inactive licensees for 2021, and would 
increase the annual legal services fee, which a licensee can opt out of paying, to $45. The 
bill also includes other reforms related to recouping funds paid out of the Client 
Security Fund (CSF), public comment related to items to be heard in closed session, and 
discipline for attempting to seek agreements relating to: not reporting misconduct to the 
State Bar; not cooperating with the State Bar in a disciplinary investigation; 
withdrawing a disciplinary complaint; or sealing the record of any action or proceeding 
from the State Bar. The bill also provides that if any of the first three administrations of 
the law students’ examination includes the June 2020 administration, an applicant will 
be permitted an additional fourth administration of the examination to pass in order to 
receive credit for all law studies completed to the time the examination is passed. 
 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
The State Bar of California (State Bar) is a public corporation and the largest state bar in 
the country. Attorneys who wish to practice law in California generally must be 
admitted and licensed in this state and must be members of the State Bar. (Cal. Const., 
art. VI, § 9.) This bill is the annual State Bar licensing fee bill that reauthorizes the State 
Bar to collect attorney licensing fees. The bill also makes other reforms to enhance 
protection of the public, including strengthening the ability of the State Bar to go after 
attorneys whose dishonest conduct has caused funds to be paid out of the Client 
Security Fund. The bill is supported by the Service Employees Union, Local 1000 (SEIU, 
Local 1000). There is no known opposition for the bill. 
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PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE LAW 
 
Existing law: 
 
1) Establishes that protection of the public, which includes support for greater access 

to, and inclusion in, the legal system, shall be the highest priority for the State Bar 
and the Board of Trustees (Board) in exercising their licensing, regulatory, and 
disciplinary functions. Whenever the protection of the public is inconsistent with 
other interests sought to be promoted, the protection of the public shall be 
paramount. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6001.1.) 

  
2) Requires all attorneys who practice law in California to be licensed by the State Bar 

and establishes the State Bar for the purpose of regulating the legal profession. The 
Legislature sets the annual fees. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6000 et seq.) 
 

3) Authorizes the State Bar to collect the following fees from active licensees for the 
year 2020:  

a) $438 annual license fee for 2020. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140.) 
b) $40 fee for the CSF. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140.55.) 
c) $25 fee for the costs of the disciplinary system. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 

6140.6.) 
d) $1 fee for the attorney diversion and assistance program. (Bus. & Prof. 

Code § 6140.9.) 
 

4) Authorizes the State Bar to collect the following fees from inactive licensees for the 
year 2020:  

a) $108 annual license fee for 2020. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6141.) 
b) $10 fee for the CSF. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140.55) 
c) $25 fee for the costs of the disciplinary system. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 

6140.6.) 
d) $0 fee for the attorney diversion and assistance program. (Bus. & Prof. 

Code § 6140.9.) 
 

5) Requires the State Bar to charge a $40 fee in addition to the annual license fee for 
active and inactive licensees for the purposes of funding legal services for persons of 
limited means, as provided, unless a licensee elects not to support those activities in 
which case the licensee can deduct the amount from the annual license fee.  
 

6) Provides that it is cause for suspension, disbarment, or other discipline for any 
licensee, whether as a party or as an attorney for a party, to agree or seek agreement, 
that: 

a) The professional misconduct or the terms of a settlement of a claim for 
professional misconduct are not to be reported to the State Bar. 
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b) The plaintiff will withdraw a disciplinary complaint or will not cooperate 
with the investigation or prosecution conducted by the State Bar. 

c) The record of any civil action for professional misconduct will be sealed 
from review by the State Bar. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6090.5.) 

 
7) Requires, with specified exceptions, applicants for licensure to have passed a law 

students’ examination administered by the examining committee after completion of 
their first year of law study. Those who pass the examination within its first three 
administrations upon becoming eligible to take the examination receive credit for all 
law studies completed to the time the examination is passed. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 
6060.) 
 

8) Requires the Board to establish and administer the CSF to relieve or mitigate 
pecuniary losses caused by dishonest conduct of active members of the State Bar, as 
specified. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140.5.) 
 

9) Requires an attorney whose actions have caused the payment of funds to a claimant 
from the CSF to reimburse the fund for all moneys paid out as a result of their 
conduct, with interest, in addition to payment of the assessment for the procedural 
costs of processing the claim, as a condition of continued practice. Provides that the 
reimbursed amount, plus applicable interest and costs, is to be added to and become 
a part of the license fee of a publicly reproved or suspended licensee for the next 
calendar year, paid as a condition of applying for reinstatement of their license to 
practice law or return to active license status, or if the assessment is part of an order 
imposing a public reproval on a licensee or is part of an order imposing discipline or 
accepting a resignation with a disciplinary matter pending, the assessment may also 
be enforced as a money judgment. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6140.5(c) & (d).) 

 
10) Provides that the State Bar is subject to the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act and that 

all meetings of the State Bar are subject to the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act. (Bus. 
& Prof. Code § 6026.7(a).) 

a) Authorizes the State Bar to conduct business in a closed session to discuss 
certain things, including the preparation, approval, grading, or 
administration of the California Bar Examination or the First-Year Law 
Students’ Examination. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6026.7(c).) 

b) The Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act requires a state body to provide an 
opportunity for members of the public to directly address the state body 
on each agenda item before or during the state body’s discussion or 
consideration of the item, however, this requirement is not applicable to a 
closed session. (Gov. Code § 11125.7.) 

c) The Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act provides that is does not prevent  
either of the following: 
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i. state bodies that administer the licensing of persons engaging in 
businesses or professions from holding closed sessions to prepare, 
approve, grade, or administer examination; or 

ii. an advisory body of a state body that administers the licensing of 
persons engaged in businesses or professions from conducting a 
closed session to discuss matters that the advisory body has found 
would constitute an unwarranted invasion of the privacy of an 
individual licensee or applicant if discussed in an open meeting, 
provided the advisory body does not include a quorum of the 
members of the state body it advises. Those matters may include 
review of an applicant’s qualifications for licensure and an inquiry 
specifically related to the state body’s enforcement program 
concerning an individual licensee or applicant where the inquiry 
occurs prior to the filing of a civil, criminal, or administrative 
disciplinary action against the licensee or applicant by the state 
body. (Gov. Code § 11126(c).) 
 

11) Provides that all fines, state or local penalties, bail, forfeitures, restitution fines, 
restitution orders, or any other amounts imposed by a juvenile or superior court of 
the State of California or the Supreme Court of the State of California, upon a person 
or any other entity that are due and payable in an amount totaling no less than one 
hundred dollars ($100), in the aggregate, for criminal offenses as specified, no sooner 
than 90 days after payment of that amount becomes delinquent, may be referred by 
the juvenile or superior court, the county, the state, or the State Bar to the Franchise 
Tax Board for collection under guidelines prescribed by the Franchise Tax Board. 
(Rev. & Tax. Code § 19280(a).) 

 
This bill:  
 
1) Authorizes the State Bar to collect an annual license fee of $395 for active licensees 

and $97.40 for inactive licensees for 2021. 
 

2) Requires the State Bar to charge $45 in addition to the annual license fee for the 
purposes of funding legal services for persons of limited means, as provided, unless 
a licensee elects not to support those activities, in which case the licensee can deduct 
the amount from the annual license fee. 

a) Requires $5 of the $45 fee to be allocated to qualified legal services projects 
or qualified support centers, as defined, to hire law school graduates with 
a temporary provisional license issued by the State Bar. 

b) Prohibits the State Bar from making any deductions from the $5 for any 
reason, including, but not limited to, administrative fees, costs, or 
expenses. 

c) Requires the funds to be allocated pursuant to a competitive grant 
process. 
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d) Authorizes the Legal Services Trust Fund Commission in consultation 
with the board of trustees to create priorities for allocating the competitive 
grants. 

e) Any funds remaining after the termination of the provisional license 
program are to be reallocated to support legal services for persons of 
limited means, as provided. 

f) Repeals these provisions on January 1, 2023, and reenacts the $40 fee for 
legal services.  

 
3) Provides that the State Bar may collect costs stemming from a public reproval of a 

licensee using any means provided by law. 
 

4) Provides that it is cause for suspension, disbarment, or other discipline for any 
licensee, or a person acting on a licensee’s behalf, whether or not in the context of 
litigation, to agree or seek agreement, that: 

a) misconduct or the terms of a settlement related to misconduct are not to 
be reported to the State Bar; 

b) a complainant withdraw or not cooperate with the investigation 
conducted by the State Bar; or 

c) the record of any action or proceeding be sealed from the State Bar.  
 

5) Requires an applicant to be permitted to pass the First-Year Law Student’s 
Examination within the applicant’s first four administrations upon becoming 
eligible to take the examination and receive credit for all law studies completed to 
the time the examination is passed if any of the first three administrations of the 
examination includes the June 2020 administration. 
 

6) Requires a licensee whose actions have caused the payment of funds to an applicant 
from the CSF to owe those funds to the State Bar and reimburse the CSF for all 
moneys paid out as a result of the licensee’s conduct, with interest.  

a) Authorizes the State Bar to collect from an attorney any funds paid to an 
applicant from the CSF related to conduct by that attorney through any 
means authorized by law and as a money judgment if the reimbursed 
amount is part of a final determination by the CSF. 

b) Prohibits a licensee from raising the defense of laches regarding any 
attempt by the State Bar to recover funds owed to the CSF by that licensee. 

c) Provides that these provisions are to be applied retroactively as well as 
prospectively.  

d) Provides the Legislature finds and declares the following: 
i. There is a dramatic imbalance between payouts from the CSF to 

clients victimized by attorneys and reimbursement to the State Bar 
from dishonest attorneys on whose behalf payments were made.  

ii. There is a significant state interest in enhancing the State Bar of 
California’s collection of overdue CSF reimbursement in order to 
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enhance revenue necessary to reimburse victims of attorney 
misconduct. 

iii. That amendments to Section 6140.5 of the Business and Professions 
Code are necessary to advance this important state interest. 

iv. These amendments will enhance to State Bar of California’s ability 
to effectively collect overdue CSF reimbursement that is not part of 
a disciplinary order. 

v. The amendments to subdivisions (c), (f), and (h) of Section 6140.5 of 
the Business and Professions Code are intended to apply 
retroactively.  

 
7) Requires that a publically reproved or suspended attorney repay to the CSF any 

funds paid to an applicant related to conduct by that attorney, with interest, as a 
condition of continued practice, and that the funds are added to and become part of 
the license fee of a publicly reproved or suspended license. 

 
8) Requires the State Bar, in order to seek a monetary judgment against any attorney 

for repayment to the CSF, to file a certified copy of the Notice of Payment of the CSF 
with the clerk of the superior court and requires the clerk to immediately enter 
judgment in conformity with the Notice of Payment of the CSF. 

 
9) Provides that any order imposing upon an attorney licensee public reproval, 

discipline, or accepting a resignation with a disciplinary matter pending, in which 
the licensee is ordered to pay restitution is enforceable as a money judgment by the 
payee, and provides that the entry or enforcement of any money judgment based on 
such order, the payee must reduce the amount owed by the licensee to the payee by 
any reimbursement received by the payee from the CSF or by any amount received 
as criminal restitution ordered pursuant to a specified section of the Penal Code. 

a) A payee or other applicant who files an application with the CSF has an 
ongoing obligation to inform the CSF as to any payment recovered 
directly or indirectly from the attorney or any other source. 

b) A money judgment entered pursuant to these provisions will not affect 
the right of a payee to file an application with the CSF to recover any 
portion of the restitution as provided. 

c) To the extent that a payee or other applicant has already collected on any 
portion of the loss, the CSF may reduce any qualifying reimbursable 
amount by the amount collected. 

d) To the extent that the CSF reimburses a payee or other applicant, the 
licensee or former licensee is required to reimburse the CSF for that 
payment. 

 
10) Authorizes the State Bar to have a closed session, in addition to grounds authorized 

in the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act, for the preparation of examination 
materials, the approval, the grading, or security of test administration for 
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certification of a specialist, the California Bar Examination, or the First-Year Law 
Students’ Examination.  

 
11) Requires the state to accept public comment in open session on all matters that are 

on the agenda for discussion or decision by the board of trustees, whether in an 
open or a closed session. 

 
12) Provides that, in addition to fines, state or local penalties, bail, forfeitures, restitution 

fines, or restitution orders, monetary sanctions and any payment from the State Bar 
of California’s CSF that is part of a final determination by the CSF, may be referred 
to the Franchise Tax Board for collection under guidelines prescribed by the 
Franchise Tax Board. 

 
COMMENTS 

 
1. Stated need for the bill 

 
The Assembly Judiciary Committee, as author of the bill, writes: 
 

This bill constitutes the annual measure authorizing the State Bar of California to 
collect licensing fees from attorneys practicing law in this state. In 2019, after years 
of requests from the State Bar of California to increase the annual license fee, the 
Legislature approved a significant increase in the licensing fee paid by attorneys.  
The 2019 fee increase was less than half of what the State Bar originally sought and 
instead reflected the analysis of the State Auditor and Legislative Analyst’s Office 
regarding the actual ongoing needs of the State Bar.   
 
Seeking to ease some of the financial burden placed on attorneys as a result of the 
2019 fee increase, and in the absence of clear justification for maintaining several 
one-time fees approved in the 2019 legislation, this bill permits those fees to lapse, 
thereby lowering the amount of 2021 annual dues by $34 for active attorneys and 
$5.60 for inactive attorneys.   

 
2. State Bar of California 
 
The State Bar of California is a public corporation. Attorneys who wish to practice law 
in California generally must be admitted and licensed in this state and must be 
members of the State Bar. (Cal. Const., art. VI, Sec. 9.) The power to regulate the practice 
of law, including the power to admit and to discipline attorneys, is among the inherent 
powers of the Supreme Court. The State Bar functions as the administrative arm of the 
Supreme Court for the purpose of assisting in attorney admissions and discipline, with 
the Supreme Court retaining its inherent judicial authority to disbar or suspend 
attorneys. 
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The State Bar of California is the largest state bar in the country. In 2020, the total State 
Bar membership was 275,635, which included 191,360 active licensees, 2,274 judge 
members, 15,529 licensees who are “Not Eligible to Practice Law,” and approximately 
66,000 inactive members.1 The State Bar’s programs are financed mostly by annual 
license fees paid by attorneys as well as other fees paid by applicants seeking to practice 
law. The State Bar is governed by a Board of Trustees. Pursuant to SB 36 (Jackson, Ch. 
422, Stats. 2017), the Board was required to transition to a 13 member board comprised 
of Governor, Supreme Court, Assembly, and Senate appointees. 
 
As a constitutional matter, the judicial power of California is vested in the Supreme 
Court, Courts of Appeal, and superior courts. (Cal. Const., art. VI, Sec. 1.) The power to 
regulate the practice of law, including the power to admit and to discipline attorneys, is 
among the inherent powers of the Supreme Court. (In re Attorney Discipline System 
(1998) 19 Cal.4th 582, 592; Obrien v. Jones (2000) 23 Cal.4th 40, 48.)  In addressing this 
inherent authority, the Supreme Court has explained: “‘The important difference 
between regulation of the legal profession and regulation of other professions is this:  
Admission to the bar is a judicial function, and members of the bar are officers of the court, 
subject to discipline by the court. Hence, under the constitutional doctrine of separation 
of powers, the court has inherent and primary regulatory power.’” (In re Attorney 
Discipline System, supra, 19 Cal.4th at 593.) 
 
Although originally a creature of statute, the State Bar of California is now “a 
constitutional entity within the judicial article of the California Constitution.” (Obrien, 
supra, 23 Cal.4th at 48; see Cal. Const., art. VI, § 9; Bus. & Prof. Code, Sec. 6001.) The 
State Bar functions as the administrative arm of the Supreme Court for the purpose of 
assisting in attorney admissions and discipline, with the court retaining its inherent 
judicial authority to disbar or suspend attorneys. (In re Attorney Discipline System, supra, 
19 Cal.4th at 599-600; see Keller v. State Bar of California (1990) 496 U.S. 1, 11.) The State 
Bar’s regulatory assistance is an integral part of the judicial function. (Obrien, supra, 23 
Cal.4th at 48.) Emphasizing the sui generis nature of the State Bar as its administrative 
arm, the Supreme Court has made clear that “express legislative recognition of reserved 
judicial power over admission and discipline is critical to the constitutionality of the 
State Bar Act.” (In re Attorney Discipline System, supra, 19 Cal.4th at 600, citing Bus. & 
Prof. Code Sec. 6087.) 
 
At the same time, the Legislature’s exercise, under the police power, of a reasonable 
degree of regulation and control over the profession and practice of law in California, is 
well established. (Obrien, supra, 23 Cal.4th at 48.) The Legislature also exercises 
regulatory authority pursuant to the State Bar Act and has authority to set the amount 
of membership fees necessary to fund the disciplinary system. The Legislature has 
enacted statutes making protection of the public the highest priority of the State Bar 

                                            
1 Attorney Status, State Bar of Cal. (current as of Aug. 4, 2020), available at 
https://members.calbar.ca.gov/search/demographics.aspx (as of Aug. 5, 2020). 

https://members.calbar.ca.gov/search/demographics.aspx
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(Bus. & Prof. Code § 6001.1). And, while the Board has statutory authority to formulate 
rule proposals, they only take effect if the State Supreme Court approves them.2  
 
3.  License fees 
 
 a. Annual license fee decrease 
 
Last year, based largely on recommendations from the California State Auditor and the 
Legislative Analyst’s Office, the 2020 annual license fee was increased to $438 for active 
licensees and $108 for inactive licensees. This fee increase consisted of a $71 increase on 
an ongoing basis and a onetime fee increase of $52 for active licensees, and a $20 
increase on an ongoing basis and a onetime fee increase of $13 for inactive licensees. 
This year the annual license fee was decreased to $395 for active licensees and $97.40 for 
inactive licenses. The decrease includes the cessation of several of the onetime fee 
increases enacted last year. When all fees are added together, excluding the optional 
legal services fee, the total license fee for 2021 is $470 for active licensees and $137.40 for 
inactive licensees.3  
 
 b. Increase in optional legal services fee 
 
Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic the California Supreme Court was forced to delay the 
annual July State Bar Examination until October and has directed that the examination 
will be offered remotely online. The California Supreme Court wrote in a letter to the 
State Bar, dated July 16, 2020: 
 

[…] Although a few less populous states have been able to accommodate a diploma 
privilege that grants entry for all of the graduates of their states’ constituent 
American Bar Association (ABA)-accredited law schools, the law schools in 
California, unlike in other states, represent a diverse array of ABA-accredited, 
California-accredited, and California-registered schools. If California were to adopt 
diploma-privilege criteria used by other states, graduates of nearly four dozen 
California law schools would not meet those criteria and would be excluded.    

   
  

With these considerations in mind, the court seeks a path that ensures the fair and 
equal treatment of all graduates, regardless of law school accreditation status, while 
also ensuring that protections remain in place for consumers of legal services […] 
 

                                            
2 The Rules of Professional Conduct are the professional standards to which California attorneys must 
adhere. Violation of the rules may subject an attorney to discipline.   
3 This amount includes the fee for the Attorney Diversion and Assistance Program of $10 for active 
licensees and $5 for inactive licensees, which last year was only $1 and $0, respectively. (Bus. & Prof. 
Code § 6140.9(a)).  
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The court recognizes that postponement of the bar examination may impact 
employment prospects, delay incomes, and otherwise impair the livelihoods of 
persons who recently have graduated from law school. Moreover, the court 
recognizes 2020 graduates may not be in a position to study and prepare for a fall 
bar 2020 examination. Therefore, in order to mitigate these hardships faced by 
graduates while fulfilling the responsibility to protect the public by ensuring that 
persons engaged in the practice of law are minimally competent to do so, the court 
directs the State Bar to implement, as soon as possible, a temporary supervised 
provisional licensure program—a limited license to practice specified areas of law 
under the supervision of a licensed attorney. This program will be made available 
for all 2020 graduates of law schools based in California or those 2020 graduates of 
law schools outside California who are permitted to sit for the California Bar 
Examination […] At a minimum, this provisional licensure program shall remain in 
effect until at least June 1, 2022 to permit 2020 graduates maximum flexibility. This 
timeframe will afford the 2020 graduates several opportunities to take the exam of 
their choosing through February 2022 and await the exam results […]4 

 
This bill raises the optional legal services fee to $45 from $40 and provides that the $5 
increase is to be used to allocate competitive grants to qualified legal services projects or 
qualified support centers to hire law school graduates with a provisional license issued 
by the State Bar. If any funds remain after the termination of the provisional license 
program, those funds are to be reallocated to support legal service for persons of 
limited means in the same manner the State Bar allocates those funds now. COVID-19 
has affected so many aspects of everyday life and the 2020 law school graduates are no 
exception. They spent three years or more receiving rigorous academic training, with 
many taking on very large amounts of debt to do so, to be faced with the uncertainty of 
when or if they would be able to begin their legal careers. Though this proposal is not a 
panacea to all the issues facing recent law school graduates, it will provide some 
additional funds to legal services organizations to not only hire provisionally licensed 
graduates, but will also provide much need legal services to persons in need. 
 
 c. Total license fee for 2021 
 
When all fees are added together, including the optional legal services fee, the total 
licenses fees for 2021 is $515 for active licensees5 and $182.40 for inactive licensees.6 
4. CSF and collecting funds owed to the State Bar 
 

                                            
4 Clerk and Executive Officer of the Supreme Court Jorge E. Navarrete, letter to the Alan K. Stenbrecher, 
Chair State Bar of Cal. Board of Trustees, July 6, 2020 re: California Bar Exam, available at 
https://newsroom.courts.ca.gov/_gallery/get_file/?file_id=5f10f6e92cfac2089661af1f&ir=1&file_ext=.pd
f (as of Aug. 4, 2020). 
5 Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 6140, 6140.55, 6140.6, 6140.9, and 6140.03. 
6 Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 6141, 6140.55, 6140.6, 6140.9, and 6140.03. 

https://newsroom.courts.ca.gov/_gallery/get_file/?file_id=5f10f6e92cfac2089661af1f&ir=1&file_ext=.pdf
https://newsroom.courts.ca.gov/_gallery/get_file/?file_id=5f10f6e92cfac2089661af1f&ir=1&file_ext=.pdf
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Under existing law, the CSF seeks to protect consumers of legal services by mitigating 
losses caused by the dishonest conduct of California attorneys. The CSF is funded 
through a mandatory contribution that is collected as part of the annual bar fee 
statement – active licensees contribute $40, and inactive licensees contribute $10. Under 
the State Bar’s rules, the following types of dishonest conduct can lead to 
reimbursement from the fund: (1) theft or embezzlement of money or the wrongful 
taking or conversion of money or property; (2) failure to refund unearned attorney fees 
paid to the lawyer in advance where the lawyer performed no services, or an 
insignificant portion of the services; (3) the borrowing of money from a client without 
the intention or reasonably anticipated ability to repay the money; (4) obtaining money 
or property from a client by representing that it would be used for investment purposes 
when no investment is made; and (5) an act of intentional dishonesty or deceit that 
directly leads to the loss of money or property that actually came into the lawyer’s 
possession. The State Bar’s Discipline Report of April 30, 2020, notes that there were 
approximately 2,370 open applications with a value of approximately $16.8 million 
based on historical experience.7  
 
The State Bar reports that unreimbursed payments to the CSF account for the 
overwhelming majority of the $177 million in debts that are owed to the State Bar. This 
bill seeks to bolster the State Bar’s ability to recover funds paid out from the CSF due to 
the misconduct of attorneys by enacting several changes. The bill reforms the process by 
which the State Bar can obtain a court order declaring the debt to the CSF and also 
authorizes the State Bar to recoup debts owed to the CSF through the Interagency 
Intercept program administered by the Franchise Tax Board.  
 
The bill makes it clear that a licensee owes any funds paid out from the CSF to the State 
Bar and is required to reimburse the CSF, regardless if the attorney continues to practice 
law. This change aligns with existing State Bar Rule 3.451 that requires an attorney to 
repay the CSF for any reimbursement with simple interest and assessment of processing 
costs. The bill also authorizes the State Bar to collect from an attorney any funds paid to 
an applicant from the CSF related to conduct by that attorney through any means 
authorized by law and as a money judgment if the reimbursed amount is part of a final 
determination by the CSF. In order to ensure that the State Bar can collect on 
outstanding funds under these provisions the bill prohibits an attorney whose actions 
caused funds to be paid out from the CSF to raise the defense of laches, and specifies 
that all of the provisions described in this paragraph apply retroactively.  
 
There are four general categories of retroactive laws the raise potential constitutional 
issues: (1) ex post facto laws, (2) laws that overturn final court judgments, (3) laws that 
impair vested rights without due process of law, and (4) laws that impair the obligation 

                                            
7 2019 Annual Discipline Report, State Bar of Cal. (April 30, 2020) at 33, available at 
http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Portals/0/documents/reports/2020/2019-Annual-Discipline-Report.pdf (as 
of August 2, 2020). 

http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Portals/0/documents/reports/2020/2019-Annual-Discipline-Report.pdf
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of contracts. The only category this bill’s provisions could potentially fall within are 
laws that impair vested rights without due process of law. When a court analyzes if a 
retroactive statute impairs a vested right without due process it applies a two-step 
analysis: (1) is a vested right at issue, and (2) if so, is the impairment reasonably 
necessary to protect important state interests. (Plotkin v. Sajahtera, Inc. (2003) 106 Cal. 
App. 4th 953, at 962-96.) Whether or not a vested right is impaired is a decision for the 
courts and a very fact specific analysis. This analysis will not focus on that issue because 
the courts have found that even if a vested right is impaired by a retroactive statute it 
may be permissible if “reasonably necessary to protect the health, safety, morals and 
general welfare of the people.” (Id. at 964.) The court will weigh several factors when 
making this determination, including “the significance of the state interest served by the 
law, the importance of the retroactive application of the law to the effectuation of that 
interest, the extent of reliance upon the former law, the legitimacy of that reliance, the 
extent of actions taken on the basis of that reliance, and the extent to which the 
retroactive application of the new law would disrupt those actions.” (Ibid.) 
 
Recognizing that there is a dramatic imbalance between payouts from the CSF to clients 
victimized by attorneys and reimbursement to the State Bar from dishonest attorneys on 
whose behalf payments were made, having these provisions apply retroactively will 
strengthen the State Bar’s ability to recoup money owed to the CSF by attorneys whose 
dishonest conduct was the cause of payouts from the fund. This will enhance the State 
Bar’s mission of public protection and also provide enhanced protections to the public 
by bolstering the reserves in the CSF to ensure that there are funds available for any 
future payouts that may be needed. Allowing dishonest attorneys to skirt their 
obligations to repay the CSF for funds paid out on their behalf actively harms the public 
and places the burden of their dishonest actions on attorneys that are not acting 
dishonestly and their victims if the CSF does not have enough funds to pay out valid 
claims. It is likely that if the court were to find the retroactive provisions affect a vested 
right, the court would still find the provisions constitutional because they are 
reasonably necessary to protect the health, safety, morals, and general welfare of the 
people.  
 
The bill also provides that a payee or other applicant who files an application with the 
CSF has an ongoing obligation to inform the CSF as to any payment recovered directly 
or indirectly from the attorney or any other source, and that a money judgment entered 
against a licensee will not affect the right of a payee to file an application with the CSF 
to recover any portion of the subject restitution. However, to the extent that a payee or 
other applicant has already collected on any portion of the loss, the CSF may reduce any 
qualifying reimbursable amount by the amount collected. The bill further provides that, 
to the extent that the CSF reimburses a payee or other applicant, the licensee or former 
licensee is required to reimburse the CSF for that payment. These provisions will ensure 
that persons harmed by the dishonest conduct of attorneys can recoup costs owed to 
them through all available channels while ensuring that they do not receive more from 
the CSF than is owed to them.  
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5. Changes to open meetings provisions 
 

The Bagley-Keene Open Meetings Act, which existing state law applies to the State Bar, 
allows closed sessions for the discussion of topics related to professional licensing 
examinations on the grounds that certain aspects of licensing exams cannot be 
discussed publically to maintain the integrity of the exams. In addition, the State Bar is 
authorized in statute to hold meetings in closed session to discuss preparation, 
approval, grading, or administration of the California Bar Examination, examinations 
for certification of a specialist, and the First-Year Law Students Examination. The intent 
of these provisions is to generally provide for the integrity of examinations and to 
prevent the release of exam questions or security measures to examinees.   
 
Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Board of Trustees held a meeting in April of this 
year to discuss whether or not it would be possible to hold a July bar exam. The Board 
held this discussion in closed session citing the Bagley-Keene Open Meetings Act and 
State Bar specific statutes that allow for closed session on topics related to 
administration of licensing examinations. Many members of the public, including 
potential examinees and law school professors and administrators, asked to provide 
public comment to the Board on this topic and the topic of alternatives to the exam such 
as provisional licensing and diploma privilege. Initially the Board refused to accept 
public comment even though hundreds, if not thousands, of law school graduates sent 
in comments to the State Bar asking to be able to speak to the Board about their 
deliberations. Eventually, the Board allowed 30 minutes of public comments to be given 
before it moved into closed session to discuss what recommendations it would make to 
the Supreme Court regarding the fate of the bar exam. This was little comfort to the 
numerous students who wished to speak on this critical topic that deeply impacts their 
future and livelihoods. In light of these events, this bill seeks to provide more 
transparency to the deliberations of the State Bar by allowing the State Bar to use closed 
sessions for the preparation of examination materials, the approval of the exam, grading 
the exam, and the security of exam administration, instead of a discussion that merely 
involves the administration of an exam. The bill also requires the State Bar to accept 
public comment on all topics that are on the agenda for discussion or decision at Board 
meetings, regardless if in open session or closed session. This will ensure that the Board 
considers all viewpoints of the public on important topics up for discussion while still 
allowing the Board to have closed session discussions. 
 
6. Other reforms 
 
Under existing law, attorneys can be subject to discipline for seeking to dissuade their 
clients from filing complaints about them with the State Bar. The existing provisions 
refer to plaintiff and records in any civil action, which could be narrowly construed to 
mean that if a civil action had not been filed, it is ok for an attorney to attempt to 
dissuade their clients from filing complaints with the State Bar. In order to strengthen 
the existing law and to provide the State Bar with additional authority to prosecute 
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attorneys who attempt to avoid having complaints filed against them, this bill provides 
that no attorney, or person acting on the attorney’s behalf, can solicit or seek an 
agreement where a client agrees not to file, or subsequently agrees to withdraw, a 
disciplinary complaint against the attorney. By removing the references in the existing 
law to civil actions and plaintiff, the bill expands the situations in which an attorney can 
be punished for seeking to avoid a complaint being filed against them or hindering a 
State Bar investigation by agreement with a client, thereby increasing protection to the 
public. 

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, the State Bar was forced to delay the First-Year Law 
Student’s Examination until June and to administer the exam online remotely. Because 
of this, the bill allows an applicant to be permitted to pass the First-Year Law Student’s 
Examination within the applicant’s first four administrations, instead of three, upon 
becoming eligible to take the examination, if any of the first three administrations of the 
examination includes the June 2020 administration. 
 
Existing law provides that any order imposing a public reproval on a licensee of the 
State Bar is to include a direction that the licensee pay costs and requires the California 
Supreme Court to include a direction that the licensee will pay costs in any order 
imposing discipline, or accepting a resignation with a disciplinary matter pending. This 
bill provides that an order imposing such costs may be collected through any means 
provided by law.  
 
7. Statements in Support 
 
The SEIU, Local 1000 writes in support: 
 

The Service Employees International Union, Local 1000 (Local 1000), 
representing 96,000 members, including attorney and non-attorney bargaining 
unit employees of the State Bar of California (State Bar), supports AB 3362,    
which would ensure that the State Bar continues its mission of managing the 
admission of lawyers to the practice of law, investigating complaints of 
professional misconduct and prescribing appropriate discipline.[…] 
 
AB 3362 would reduce attorney fees by eliminating the one-time forty-dollar fee 
to the Client Security Fund and the three-dollar reserve fund fee. While we 
understand that the Client Security Fund was a one-time fee, we do believe the 
State Bar should have a reserve fund to ensure funding stability and avoid 
drastic fee increases, like we saw last year. Therefore, we are respectfully 
requesting that the bill be amended to reinstate the three-dollar reserve fund fee. 
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SUPPORT 
 

SEIU, Local 1000 
 

OPPOSITION 
 
None known 

 
RELATED LEGISLATION 

 
Pending Legislation: None known. 
 
Prior Legislation:  
 

SB 176 (Jackson, Ch. 698, Stats. 2019) authorized the State Bar to collet annual licensing 
fees of $438 for 2020 and enacted other reforms, including raising the salary cap that 
qualify attorneys to pay reduced licensing fees.  
 
AB 3249 (Assembly Committee on Judiciary, Ch. 659, Stats. 2018) authorized the State 
Bar to collect annual licensing fees of $390 for 2019 and enacted other reforms, including 
a strengthening of the attorney discipline system.  
 
SB 36 (Jackson, 2017, Ch. 422, Stats. 2017) authorized the State Bar to collect active 
membership dues of up to $390 for the year 2018; reformed the State Bar Act by 
separating the sections from the State Bar and creating what is now the California 
Lawyers Association; changed the composition of the State Bar Board; and enacted 
various reforms to remove politics from the Board.  
 
AB 2878 (Committee on Judiciary, 2016) would have authorized bar dues for 2017 and 
enacted numerous reforms. The bill died on concurrence on the Assembly Floor. 
 
SB 387 (Jackson, Ch. 537, Stats. 2015) authorized the State to collect active licensee fees 
of up to $390 for the year 2016; required the State Bar to develop and implement a 
specified workforce plan for its discipline system; required the State Bar to conduct a 
public sector compensation and benefits study, conduct a thorough analysis of its 
operating costs and develop a spending plan to determine a reasonable amount for the 
annual membership fee, as specified; required the State Bar to contract with the 
California State Auditor’s Office to conduct an in-depth financial audit of the State Bar; 
and made the State Bar subject to the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act and the 
California Public Records Act, as specified. 
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PRIOR VOTES: 
 

Assembly Floor (Ayes 76, Noes 0) 
Assembly Appropriations Committee (Ayes 18, Noes 0) 
Assembly Judiciary Committee (Ayes 11, Noes 0) 
 

************** 
 


