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SUBJECT 
 

Gift certificates 
 

DIGEST 
 

This bill provides that a gift certificate with a cash value less than or equal to $25 must 
be redeemable in cash, increasing that threshold from $10.  
 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
Existing law makes it unlawful to sell a gift certificate or gift card that contains an 
expiration date or service fee, except as specified. A gift certificate sold after January 1, 
1997, is redeemable in cash or subject to replacement with a new gift certificate. 
However, where the cash value is less than $10, the gift certificate must be redeemable 
in cash for its cash value.  
 
Given the concerns with the amount of unused gift certificates that consumers are 
unable to meaningfully use, this bill provides that the gift certificate must be 
redeemable in cash if the cash value is less than or equal to $25. The author’s goal is to 
“put more money back in the pockets of consumers.” 
 
The bill is author-sponsored. It is supported by the Consumer Attorneys of California 
and Public Law Center. It is opposed by a coalition of industry associations, including 
the California Retailers Association.  
 

PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE LAW 
 
Existing law: 
 

1) Makes it unlawful for any person or entity to sell a gift certificate to a purchaser 
that contains any of the following: 

a) An expiration date. 
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b) A service fee, including, but not limited to, a service fee for dormancy, 
except as provided. (Civ. Code § 1749.5(a).) 

 
2) Provides that any gift certificate sold after January 1, 1997, is redeemable in cash 

for its cash value, or subject to replacement with a new gift certificate at no cost 
to the purchaser or holder. Notwithstanding that provision, any gift certificate 
with a cash value of less than $10 is redeemable in cash for its cash value. (Civ. 
Code § 1749.5(b). 
 

3) Provides that the above provisions do not apply to any of the following gift 
certificates issued on or after January 1, 1998, if the expiration date appears in 
capital letters in at least 10-point font on the front of the gift certificate: 

a) Gift certificates that are distributed by the issuer to a consumer pursuant 
to an awards, loyalty, or promotional program without any money or 
other thing of value being given in exchange for the gift certificate by the 
consumer. 

b) Gift certificates that are donated or sold below face value at a volume 
discount to employers or to nonprofit and charitable organizations for 
fundraising purposes if the expiration date on those gift certificates is not 
more than 30 days after the date of sale. 

c) Gift certificates that are issued for perishable food products. (Civ. Code § 
1749.5(d).) 

 
4) Provides that a “gift certificate” includes gift cards, but does not include any gift 

card usable with multiple sellers of goods or services, as provided. This 
exemption does not apply to a gift card usable only with affiliated sellers of 
goods or services. (Civ. Code § 1749.45.) 
 

5) Provides that if a legal obligation requires the performance of one of two acts, in 
the alternative, the party required to perform has the right of selection, unless it 
is otherwise provided by the terms of the obligation. (Civ. Code § 1448.) 

 
This bill raises the threshold for eligibility for a cash redemption to $25 or less.  
 

COMMENTS 
 
1. Consumer rights in connection with gift certificates 

 
This bill deals with consumer rights in connection with gift certificates and gift cards 
that have gone unused. According to a CNN report:  
 

Almost two-thirds of American consumers have at least one unspent gift 
card tucked away in a drawer, pocket, wallet or purse. And at least half of 
those consumers lose a gift card before they use it, according to a new 
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report from Credit Summit, an online provider of financial advisory 
services. 
 
The report said there is as much as $21 billion of unspent money tied up in 
unused and lost gift cards. Of those surveyed, a majority of respondents 
said their unredeemed cards were worth $200 or less.1 

 
Current law prohibits such cards from having an expiration date and provides a means 
for redeeming the cards. A gift certificate is redeemable in cash for its cash value, or 
subject to replacement with a new gift certificate at no cost to the purchaser or holder. 
The general rule of law is that where a legal obligation requires the performance of one 
of two acts, in the alternative, the party required to perform has the right of selection, 
unless it is otherwise provided by the terms of the obligation. (Civ. Code § 1448.) 
Therefore, the issuer of the gift certificate could choose whether to provide a consumer 
a cash refund or simply issue a new card.2  
 
To provide consumers more rights with respect to gift certificates with lower remaining 
values, SB 250 (Corbett, Ch. 640, Stats. 2007) amended that law providing that 
notwithstanding the existing provision, any gift certificate with a cash value of less than 
$10 is redeemable in cash for its cash value. This allows consumers the ability to get the 
value of their cards where the remaining balance is extremely low.  
 
That amount has not changed in the 17 years since. In fact, the original version of SB 250 
sought to make the threshold $20 but lowered it in response to opposition.  
 
This bill makes the first change to that threshold, providing consumers the right to 
redeem for cash value gift certificates of $25 or less. According to the author:  
 

SB 1272, the Consumer Access to Stored Holdings Act or CASH Act, will 
raise the maximum dollar amount on a gift card a consumer can redeem 
for cash. The current limit of $9.99 was set 15 years ago and an increase is 
long overdue. This increase will put more cash back in the wallets of 
Californians at a time when every penny truly counts. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

                                            
1 Parija Kavilanz, Americans have a collective $21 billion in unspent gift cards (February 23, 2023) CNN, 
https://www.cnn.com/2023/02/23/business/gift-cards-unused/index.html [as of Mar. 28, 2024]. 
2 See also Marilao v. McDonald's Corp. (S.D. Cal. 2009) 632 F. Supp. 2d 1008, 1012 (“it is the vendor who 
holds the right to select whether to redeem a gift card in cash for its cash value or to provide a 
replacement card at no cost to the purchaser or holder”).  

https://www.cnn.com/2023/02/23/business/gift-cards-unused/index.html
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2. Stakeholder positions  
 
The Consumer Attorneys of California write in support:  
 

The gift card industry is a multi-billion dollar industry, valued at $899.3 
billion in 2023, with expectations of reaching a value of $2.3 trillion by 
2030. There is up to $21 billion of unspent money estimated to be sitting 
on unused gift cards, according to a 2023 report by Credit Summit. 47% of 
Americans have unused gift cards, wasted in wallets and junk drawers. 
Many consumers feel it is not worth the hassle to cash out less than $10, 
while even more are completely unaware of their right to redeem gift 
certificates for cash. This leaves millions of dollars meant to be redeemed 
for services and goods unspent, a major loss for consumers. In an attempt 
to use the entirety of a gift card, a consumer will likely spend beyond the 
remaining amount, also leading to a loss. 

 
Writing in support, the Public Law Center argues:  
 

Once purchased, the profit from the sale of a gift card is immediately 
available to the issuing company. There is a nearly 100 percent profit 
margin if the consumer does not use the gift card. Every cent of unspent 
gift cards adds up to hundreds of millions of dollars captured by 
companies every single year with no exchange for goods or services. Gift 
certificates are gifted with the intention of being entirely spent by the 
receiver, and the law should allow them to do so. 

 
A coalition of industry associations, including the California Fuels and Convenience 
Alliance, write in opposition:  
 

Forcing merchants to offer cash back at a $25 threshold poses considerable 
challenges. This bill would force businesses to maintain substantial cash 
on hand especially on days like Black Friday and the days after Christmas 
when demand for cash back could surge. This not only strains financial 
resources on small businesses, but also significantly heightens security 
risks. With retail theft on the rise, holding increased amounts of cash in-
store makes these businesses prime targets for theft. 
 
From a fraud prevention perspective, the bill potentially exacerbates the 
risk. Gift cards are vulnerable to fraud, and the requirement for this level 
of cash back may serve as a mechanism for fraudsters to launder money. 
The prospect of purchasing gift cards with illicit funds, only to cash them 
back through legitimate channels, is a concern. 
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Concerns were also raised by those in opposition that raising the threshold for cash 
redemption would jeopardize a federal exemption and require collection of personal 
information from consumers when selling gift cards pursuant to the federal Bank 
Secrecy Act. The United States Department of Treasury’s Financial Crimes Enforcement 
Network (FinCEN) issued regulations regarding compliance with that Act. Relevant 
here:  
 

Closed loop prepaid access is a type of prepaid access that can be used for 
goods or services. See 31 CFR 1010.100(kkk). The regulations exclude from 
the definition of a prepaid program an arrangement that provides closed 
loop prepaid access to funds limited to $2,000 or less that can be 
associated with a prepaid access device or vehicle on any day. See 31 CFR 
1010.100(ff)(4)(iii)(A).3 

 
Essentially, gift cards for $2,000 or less that can only be used in a closed universe do not 
need to comply with all the regulatory requirements at issue. Relevant to the money 
laundering concern as well, in its rulemaking process, FinCEN responded to comments 
from retailers that these programs should be exempted given that they are commonly 
issued in denominations of $500 or less by stating: “Such low dollar limits and the 
inability, except under rare, de minimis situations, to convert closed loop prepaid access 
to cash make it an inefficient, cumbersome tool for use by money launderers.”4  
 
While there is claim that raising the redeemable amount from $10 to $25 will affect the 
determination that this is no longer de minimis, subsequent guidance from FinCEN 
states: “As FinCEN has explained, refunds of de minimis amounts required by 
applicable state law are consistent with the definition of ‘closed loop prepaid access’ 
and do not negate the exclusion of closed loop prepaid access from the definition of a 
prepaid program.”5   

 
Also of note, is FinCEN’s discussion in that guidance of a Massachusetts law that could 
provide cash redemption well in excess of $25, as proposed by this bill:  
 

We understand that Massachusetts law concerning non-reloadable closed 
loop prepaid access is structured differently than the laws of other states 
requiring refunds on closed loop prepaid access. Massachusetts law 
requires that for such products a consumer be provided cash redemption 
when 90% or more of the initial prepaid access value has been depleted. 
Depending on the original value, this may significantly exceed the fixed 

amount currently required by any other state law. When Massachusetts 

                                            
3 Frequently Asked Questions regarding Prepaid Access (March 24, 20216) FinCEN, 
https://www.fincen.gov/resources/statutes-regulations/guidance/frequently-asked-questions-
regarding-prepaid-access.  
4 76 Fed. Reg. 45403, 45407.  
5 See fn 3.  

https://www.fincen.gov/resources/statutes-regulations/guidance/frequently-asked-questions-regarding-prepaid-access
https://www.fincen.gov/resources/statutes-regulations/guidance/frequently-asked-questions-regarding-prepaid-access
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law applies to closed loop prepaid access, but only when Massachusetts 
law applies, FinCEN deems a refund required by Massachusetts law to 
be de minimis for purposes of determining whether closed loop prepaid 
access exception applies.6  

 
Therefore, it is unlikely that California raising their threshold to $25 will impact the 
calculus of what is deemed de minimis given the Massachusetts law provides for much 
higher cash redemption and is still considered below the threshold. It also would not 
likely change the equation from a money-laundering perspective given the suspicious 
activity reporting threshold is $2,000.  
 

SUPPORT 
 

Consumer Attorneys of California 
Public Law Center 

 
OPPOSITION 

 
CalAsian Chamber of Commerce 
California Chamber of Commerce 
California Fuels and Convenience Alliance 
California Restaurant Association 
California Retailers Association 
National Federation of Independent Businesses 
National Association of Theater Owners of California 
 

RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
Pending Legislation: None known.  
 
Prior Legislation: SB 250 (Corbett, Ch. 640, Stats. 2007) See Comment 1.  
 

************** 
 

                                            
6 Ibid (emphasis added). See also, Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 200A, § 5D. 


