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SUBJECT 
 

Business practices:  hotel and private residence rental reservations:  refunds 
 

DIGEST 
 

This bill requires a hosting platform, hotel, third-party booking service, or short-term 
rental to allow a consumer to cancel a reservation within 24 hours without penalty and 
to have the funds refunded to the original form of payment, as specified.  
 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
In recent years, rates at hotels and other short-term lodging have risen steadily. While 
this occurs, cancellation policies at these lodging establishments have gotten 
progressively stricter, a stark departure from traditionally lenient cancellation policies. 
With the transition to mostly online booking and the troubling practice of drip pricing, 
consumer unfriendly cancellation policies are particularly problematic.  
 
This bill sets an extremely modest floor for cancellation policies. It requires hosting 
platforms, hotels, third-party booking services, and short-term rentals to provide 
consumers at least a 24-hour cancellation window after booking if the reservation is 
made more than 24 hours before the time of check-in. Any attendant refunds must be 
returned to the original form of payment, as specified. 
 
This bill is author sponsored and supported by the Consumer Attorneys of California. 
The bill is opposed by a host of industry groups, including the California Travel 
Association and the California Chamber of Commerce.   
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PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE LAW 
 
Existing law: 
 

1) Establishes the Unfair Competition Law (UCL), which provides a statutory cause 
of action for any unlawful, unfair, or fraudulent business act or practice and 
unfair, deceptive, untrue, or misleading advertising, including over the internet. 
(Bus. & Prof. Code § 17200 et seq.)  
 

2) Establishes the Consumer Legal Remedies Act (CLRA), which prohibits unfair 
methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices undertaken by 
any person in a transaction intended to result or which results in the sale or lease 
of goods or services to any consumer. (Civ. Code § 1750 et seq.) 
 

3) Provides that any consumer who suffers any damage as a result of the use or 
employment by any person of a method, act, or practice declared to be unlawful 
by the CLRA may bring an action against that person to recover or obtain 
specified remedies. (Civ. Code § 1780.) 

 
This bill:  
 

1) Requires every hosting platform, hotel, third-party booking service, and short-
term rental to allow a reservation to be canceled without penalty for at least 24 
hours after the reservation is confirmed if the reservation is made 24 hours or 
more before the time of check-in. The 24-hour window starts from the moment 
the reservation is confirmed. 
 

2) Requires the attendant refund to be issued to the original form of payment 
within 30 days of the cancellation of the reservation. The refund shall include a 
refund of all fees charged to the consumer for optional services that the 
consumer did not use. 
 

3) Authorizes the Attorney General, district attorneys, and specified city attorneys 
and county counsel to bring an enforcement action against those in violation. The 
court is required to assess a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each violation based 
on various factors, including the extent and severity of the violator’s conduct. 
Each day in violation constitutes a separate violation.  

 
4) Defines the relevant terms, as follows:  

 
a) “hotel” means any hotel, motel, bed and breakfast inn, or other similar 

transient lodging establishment, but it shall not include any residential 
hotel as defined in Section 50519 of the Health and Safety Code; 
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b) “third-party booking service” means a person that facilitates the booking 
of a hotel room or short-term rental in this state; 

c) “short-term rental” means a residential dwelling, or any portion of a 
residential dwelling, that is rented to a person or persons for 30 
consecutive days or less; and 

d) “hosting platform” has the same meaning as that term is defined in 
Section 22590 of the Business and Professions Code. 

 
5) Clarifies that it does not apply to a reservation booked by a third party, other 

than a third-party booking service, on behalf of a consumer pursuant to a 
contract between the third party and the hosting platform, hotel, third-party 
booking service, or short-term rental. 

 
COMMENTS 

 
1. California’s consumer protection laws 

 
The Legislature has long considered consumer protection to be a matter of high 
importance. State law is replete with statutes aimed at protecting California consumers 
from unfair, dishonest, or harmful market practices. These consumer-protection laws 
authorize consumers to enforce their own rights and seek remedies to make them 
whole.  
 
The UCL (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17200) provides remedies for “anything that can properly 
be called a business practice and that at the same time is forbidden by law.” (Cel-Tech 
Communications, Inc. v. Los Angeles Cellular Telephone Co. (1999) 20 Cal.4th 163, 180 
[citations omitted].)  The UCL provides that a court “may make such orders or 
judgments . . . as may be necessary to restore to any person in interest any money or 
property, real or personal, which may have been acquired by means of such unfair 
competition.” (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17203; see also Korea Supply Co. v. Lockheed Martin 
Corp. (2003) 29 Cal.4th 1134, 1146 [“An order for restitution, then, is authorized by the 
clear language of the [UCL.”]].) The law also permits courts to award injunctive relief 
and, in certain cases, to assess civil penalties against the violator. (Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 
17203, 17206.)  
 
The FAL proscribes making or disseminating any statement that is known or should be 
known to be untrue or misleading with intent to directly or indirectly dispose of real or 
personal property. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17500 et seq.) Violators are subject to a civil 
penalty not to exceed $2,500 for each violation in an action brought by the Attorney 
General or by any district attorney, county counsel, or city attorney. (Bus. & Prof. Code 
§ 17536.) Similar to the UCL, the FAL provides that a person may bring an action for an 
injunction or restitution if the person has suffered injury in fact and has lost money or 
property as a result of a violation of the FAL. (Bus. & Prof. Code § 17535.) 
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The CLRA was enacted “to protect the statute’s beneficiaries from deceptive and unfair 
business practices,” and to provide aggrieved consumers with “strong remedial 
provisions for violations of the statute.” (Am. Online, Inc. v. Superior Court (2001) 90 
Cal.App.4th 1, 11.) The CLRA prohibits “unfair methods of competition and unfair or 
deceptive acts or practices undertaken by any person in a transaction intended to result 
or which results in the sale or lease of goods or services to any consumer,” (Civ. Code § 
1770(a)), and prohibits conduct “likely to mislead a reasonable consumer.” (Colgan v. 
Leatherman Tool Grp., Inc. (2006) 135 Cal. App. 4th 663, 680; internal quotation marks 
omitted.)  
 

2. Providing a floor for lodging cancellation  
 
This bill addresses the trend toward stricter cancellation policies in the short-term 
lodging industry, as hotels and others look to the generous profits that can be generated 
by doing so. One study summarizes the issue with quantitative data:  
 

The annual revenue of the US lodging industry from fees and surcharges 
has steadily increased since 2000, except for brief periods during economic 
recessions in the early 2000s and in 2008 (Hanson 2017). In 2001, the US 
hotels generated an estimated $1 billion in fees and surcharges. This figure 
increased to an estimated record of $2.7 billion in 2017 (Hanson 2017). The 
trend toward stricter cancellation policies in the hotel industry is an 
important driver of this impressive growth in fee and surcharge revenue. 
 
Not too long ago, most hotels were allowing their customers to cancel 
their reservations free of charge until 4 PM, or 6 PM, on their check-in day. 
. . . Despite negative reactions from both leisure and business travellers, it 
appears that stricter cancellation policies are now becoming an industry 
standard without no sign of cancellation leniency in the foreseeable 
future.1 

 
Given the issues of pricing transparency in the industry, this move toward stricter 
cancellation policies can have a serious impact on consumers. This bill seeks to create a 
cancellation floor for hotels, short-term rentals, other lodging establishments, and 
booking platforms. According to the author:  
 

Internet searches can provide a jungle of conflicting links, and consumers 
can easily fall into a quicksand of misleading lodging prices. Many 
bookings are irreversible and non-refundable with some third-party 
reservation sites, hotels, and short-term rentals. Unfortunately, no state or 

                                            
1 Arash Riasi, Zvi Schwartz, & Chih-Chien Chen, A paradigm shift in revenue management? The new 
landscape of hotel cancellation policies (2019) Journal of Revenue and Pricing Management (citations 
omitted), available at https://link.springer.com/article/10.1057/s41272-019-00189-3 [as of Mar. 29, 2023].  

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1057/s41272-019-00189-3
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federal law protects consumers under these unfair circumstances. 
Consumers are then left vulnerable to losing their money on a reservation 
cannot be canceled even one minute after booking. 
 
This bill would provide greater protections for consumers in case they 
inadvertently made a mistake while booking, or change their minds about 
where to stay. This bill would require hotels, short-term rentals, and third 
party booking services to allow consumers to cancel their reservation for 
free and receive a full refund 24 hours after booking the reservation. This 
bill would allow consumers to cancel within a 24 hour period as long as 
the reservation was made at least 24 hours prior to the day of check-in. 
Finally, this bill would require the refund to be issued to the consumer 
within at least 30 days of cancellation. 

 
Given the historic leniency of allowing same day cancellation and even the current 
practices generally offering free cancellation several days in advance of the stay, it does 
not seem overly onerous to require a no-penalty 24-hour window after booking. To 
ensure the method of refund does not create additional barriers for consumers, the bill 
requires the hosting platform, hotel, third-party booking service, or short-term rental to 
issue the refund to the original form of payment and to do so with 30 days of 
cancellation.  
 
A similar consumer protection is found in the airline industry. The federal Department 
of Transportation promulgated regulations establishing the “Enhancing Airline 
Passenger Protections.” The regulation requires carriers to adopt a Customer Service 
Plan that complies with specified minimum standards. Relevant here, the plan must 
allow “reservations to be held at the quoted fare without payment, or cancelled without 
penalty, for at least twenty-four hours after the reservation is made if the reservation is 
made one week or more prior to a flight’s departure.”2  
 
Enforcement is left to the Attorney General, district attorneys, and specified city 
attorneys and county counsel. Practically speaking, this means only the most egregious 
violators will likely be held accountable. These public prosecutors can seek a penalty of 
up to $10,000 per violation. To ensure this modest consumer protection does not 
interfere with other existing rights, the author has agreed to include the following 
provision:  
 

Amendment 
 
“The duties and obligations imposed by this title are cumulative with any other 
duties or obligations imposed under other law, and shall not be construed to 
relieve any party from any duties or obligations imposed under other law.” 

                                            
2 14 C.F.R. § 259.5.  
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Writing in opposition, a coalition of industry groups argues:  
 

One of the key concerns for hotels and short-term rentals is their ability to 
re-rent the room if the booking customer decides to refund their stay. The 
less time between the expiration of the 24-hour refundable period and the 
check-in time, the more likely that the room will not be re-rented and will 
remain empty. 
 
On first glance, SB 644 appears to create a 24-hour cutoff wherein a 
business might be able to know what rooms are actually rented for the 
following day – or attempt to fill any reservations that cancelled. 
However, upon closer examination, the 24-hour pre-check-in period is 
illusory because it does not allow hotels or short-term rentals any time to 
actually re-rent the room.  
 
SB 644 provides for a 24-hour refundability period so long as “the 
reservation is made 24 hours or more before the time of check-in". In other 
words: if a reservation is made at 11:59 on Thursday, and check-in is noon 
on Friday, the room could be refunded until Friday at 11:59...one minute 
before check-in. This leaves negligible time for hotels and short-term 
rental facilities to re-rent that room, should the potential customer cancel. 
We hope to discuss lengthening the pre-check-in cutoff time period with 
the author to return to his original draft of five days, which would 
effectuate his goal of refundability, while also protecting the ability of 
hotels and short-term rentals to re-rent rooms in the event of cancellation. 

 
SUPPORT 

 
Consumer Attorneys of California  

 
OPPOSITION 

 
Airbnb 
Bay Area Council 
California Chamber of Commerce 
California Hotel & Lodging Association 
California Travel Association 
National Federation of Independent Business 
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RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
Pending Legislation:  
 
SB 478 (Dodd, 2023) makes it an unlawful business practice pursuant to the Consumer 
Legal Remedies Act to advertise, display, or offer a price for a good or service that does 
not include all mandatory fees or charges other than taxes imposed by a government. 
SB 478 is currently in this Committee.   
 
SB 683 (Glazer, 2023) requires a person that publicly advertises a rate for a hotel room or 
short-term rental in or from this state to include in the advertised rate all mandatory 
fees and to make certain disclosures clearly and conspicuously. It authorizes the 
Attorney General to bring civil actions seeking civil penalties and makes violations 
actionable under the UCL and FAL. SB 683 is set to be heard in this Committee the same 
day as this bill.  
 
SB 829 (Wilk, 2023) prohibits the operator of an entertainment facility and a primary 
ticket seller from entering into a contract that provides for the primary ticket seller to be 
the exclusive ticket seller for the operator of the entertainment facility. SB 829 is 
currently in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee.  
 
AB 8 (Friedman, 2023) requires a ticket seller to disclose to a purchaser the total price of 
the ticket and the portion of that price that represents any fees or surcharges. The seller 
must also provide a link to an internet webpage that includes certain refund 
requirements, as specified. This bill is currently pending referral in the Assembly.  
 
AB 537 (Berman, 2023) prohibits a place of “short-term lodging,” which includes short-
term rentals and hotels, from advertising or offering a room rate that does not include 
all taxes and fees required to book or reserve the short-term lodging. This prohibition 
extends to applications and online platforms whereby rental of a place of short-term 
lodging is advertised or offered. This bill is currently in the Assembly Business and 
Professions Committee.  
 
Prior Legislation:  
 
AB 1556 (Friedman, Ch. 180, Stats. 2021) requires, for cancelled events, that a refund be 
made within 30 calendar days of the cancellation; and requires a ticket price at any 
event which is postponed, rescheduled, or replaced with another event at the same date 
and time be fully refunded to the purchaser by the ticket seller upon request within 30 
calendar days of the refund request. 
 
AB 3235 (Kansen Chu, 2020) would have prohibited a place of short-term lodging, an 
internet or mobile website, application, or centralized online platform from advertising 
a room rate that does not include all of the required fees to be paid in order to stay at 
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the place of lodging, as specified. The bill declared that its provisions regarding fee 
disclosures were declaratory of existing law. The bill failed passage in the Assembly 
Business and Professions Committee.  
 

 
************** 


